Creative Every Day: Garlic Magnet

I’m creating things constantly, but I try to choose something unusual for my CED post. This week, I’m sharing a garlic refrigerator magnet.

I made it for Mike’s Moleskine sketchbook pocket. In addition to drawing or painting in each other’s books as part of my sketch exchange group, many of us make a little trinket to stash in the book’s pocket. Music CDs, stickers, finger puppets, birthday calendars, cards… anything goes, as long as it fits in the pocket! I reused the leftover cardboard backing from a magnetic grocery list pad I had just used up, so the magnet was already glued on the back. I painted a bulb of garlic, then cut around the bottom of the image & glued some real garlic roots in place, for tactile bling. I was really tempted to paint the back with crushed garlic juice, so the magnet would smell real… but everyone who gets Mike’s reeking book after me might complain, HA!

I have been appreciating the creative talents of others lately, too. My friend Carrie made this needlework pillow in the 70’s & recently gave it to me in recognition of my love for hens, gardens & art. A few days later, I bought myself this “fat red hen” mug from a Francestown Fair potter. So many beautiful, creative things in the world!

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Creative Every Day: Garlic Magnet”

  1. peggy fussell Says:

    Love that magnet!

  2. mary taitt Says:

    How fun!!! We love garlic and art! CUTE!

  3. Peggy Stermer-Cox Says:

    I like that magnet! That you used garlic roots too is extra cool! Definitely something creative and unusual. And, I like seeing the other things that you find creative; great posting!

  4. mike Says:

    I’d say that’s a pretty lifelike drawing of an onion.
    I thought you glued an onion onto the magnet!

  5. heatherlorin Says:

    fun!

  6. mary taitt Says:

    So cool (I’m revisiting from Moleskine Exchange!)

Leave a comment