Endless Summer Winding Down

I’m drowning in tomatoes. Red ones, yellow ones, orange ones, pink ones, green ones. Amish paste, Purple Cherokee, Brandywine, Sun Golds, Roma. I’ve been eating delish tomato sandwiches w/sliced pickles & mayo everyday for lunch, snacking on cherry tomatoes mid-afternoon, and having Insalata Caprese with dinner almost nightly. For the short time these warm, fresh tomatoes are vine ripe, it’s heaven on earth :-)

But keeping up with them is hellacious! I’ve been making pot after pot of sauce: cooking them down, pushing them through the food mill to separate pulp from seeds/skins, then boiling the pulp down to a thick sauce all day. This winter, I’ll be appreciating yummy homemade sauce made from my own garlic, basil, oregano, onions, peppers… but right now, it’s a lot of work. And meanwhile, there are also beans being picked & frozen, onions being braided & hung, potatoes being dug, cured & root-cellared. My professional work’s busy season just ended on Labor Day weekend, thankfully, so I have more time now for garden duty. Still, I’m getting tired. But at least I’m not hungry, being quite full of tomatoes… and beans… and summer squash… and peppers. Did I mention the tomatoes? HA!

To keep my spirits up, I did buy a new apron. I had hoped to make one, but never got to it. Instead, I found this cute & flouncy feminine number made from recycled fabric by Melissa at Dandelion Lady. I couldn’t get my camera to focus using the self-timer, so here’s a better pic of it. If you’re in the market for clever homemade aprons, visit her Etsy shop. Her “yellow-flowers apron” was my second choice. Other than trying to keep my eye on the prize of closing the harvest, I’ve been pretty unmotivated. I haven’t run in a week (since my last race on Labor Day), nor practiced piano in as long. I did walk 10 mi. Friday tho, & ride my bike into town & back on Saturday (10 mi. round trip).

And I’ve been noticing the coming of autumn. Remember the turkey mother who hatched 11 eggs in our field? She still has 9 of her brood, which means she has been lucky & done well protecting them. They all cross the road & come up our driveway each night, to roost in the woods just behind the house. Most mornings, I hear them fly down from the trees. The “babies” are still slightly smaller than their mother & they still act like youngsters… but they are looking more like adults now. Yes, summer is almost over.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Endless Summer Winding Down”

  1. meghan Ling Says:

    Sweet Henniemavis, I’m back and I so missed your blog! Tomatoes, turkeys and aprons. Girl, you are my soul sista’!

    • henniemavis Says:

      Wahoo, just in time, right as I confessed I haven’t run in a week! I need to be paddled & well, ya know, Mike can only do so much… I need a female kindergarten teacher for that kind of correction, HA!

  2. peggy fussell Says:

    May I have a tomato sandwich? and a pickle? I’ll wear my apron and help pick beans and braid garlic in exchange. Thanks for showing me the Dandelion Lady’s shop. I want everything in it! Good luck with the rest of the harvest!

    • henniemavis Says:

      Hmm, you just gave me an idea… I should have an “end of summer” bean-snapping party. Wear your aprons, girlfriends, to enjoy all-you-can-eat tomato sandwiches & pickles!

  3. mary taitt Says:

    The apron is really cute, but I prefer the kind that cover up top, too!! I have quite a collection now, including several Etsy ones.

    If you have any heritage tomatoes you particularly like–save me a few seeds!

    Our tomatoes are doing well–but not as well as yours, and that’s probably a good thing!!! I don’t want to spend THAT much time in the kitchen–but last night I made a GREAT bouillabaisse with garden tomatoes (it takes lots), garden zucchinis, garden okra, etc–I made a big batch so Keith could take it in his lunch for several days.

    Wish I were there to see your garden and you turkeys!!!!

    • henniemavis Says:

      I have some aprons that cover my top too, but happily, I don’t need to cover as much up there as I used to (hee hee). For some tasks, I just need a short apron as a place to frequently wipe my hands :-)
      My garden & turkeys miss you!

  4. mary taitt Says:

    The tomatoes are pretty! I have lots of small yellow sweet ones. They are bigger than grapes are cherry, slightly smaller than a plum, but you can pop the whole thing in your mouth like candy–mmmm–they are sweeter than the grapes or cherries, which I also have a lot of and enjoy eating out of hand directly from the garden.

  5. daisypatch Says:

    Aprons! I thought I was the only one who loved an apron! So nice to find your blog. We’ve been a bit behind posting about our sauce-making antics, but glad to see that someone else is as buried as we are in ‘maters.

  6. mary taitt Says:

    I use my aprons as towels too! SO convenient!!! Aprons are good! :-D I’ve had some since I was a kid. :-D

    Hugs and kissies all around for cats, hens, and hubbies. (What I really want is for THEM to hug YOU for me!)

Leave a Reply

