Day 3: Burning Off the Fruitcake

There’s still some left. Any takers?

The snowstorm abated at 10am, about 10 inches total. I shoveled out & took a half-mile dog walk, but I’m not counting that. It’s -13°F, thank God for the gym! I did a 4 mi. Expresso bike route called Bent Spoke (17 min.), then got a treadmill & did 1.5 mi. mixed walking/running intervals (20 min.). Closed with 15 min. of ab work on the mat, including a 30 sec. plank & some quad/hip/ham/calf/foot stretches. I’m planning to reintroduce running this month, as I did last January, with the hope of getting past 6 to 8 mi. long runs by May without injury. I’m trying not to get too jazzed tho, as this will be my 3rd year attempting to work up to my 1st half marathon.

Brrr, I’m cold & tired. Making a cup of tea now, then plan to crawl into bed to get warm. I should write thank-you notes for Christmas gifts I received, but I have a feeling I’ll get distracted by TV episodes on Netflix. Oh well. Tonight’s photo is of my first Christmas pudding ever. It unmolded perfectly & flamed with vigor! I even baked a real 1962 Queen Liz sixpence in it for luck. Here’s a video of the event, creatively filmed & arranged by Fruitcake-Shunning Elf, Ben Billings.

[vimeo https://vimeo.com/83363456]

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Day 3: Burning Off the Fruitcake”

  1. travellinghopefully Says:

    Now that is impressive pudding lighting!

  2. Red Hen Says:

    Haha! Nie film there from the Assorted Nuts! And great workout from you! You never mentioned-or credited yourself either-with the business of getting from home to the gym in those difficult conditions.

  3. abradypus Says:

    Third year’s a charm :-)

  4. plustenner Says:

    well done on getting to the gym! I would have just done the going to bed and cake eating bit :)

  5. notmuchofarunner Says:

    “Any takers?” …me please. When shall I pop over?

    • henniemavis Says:

      Anytime is fine, but let’s see… 21-day lead time for cheapest overseas flights… not sure how much lead time you need to finagle vacation time from work… thank God fruitcakes keep indefinitely, as it might be spring til you get here? Hurry up or you’ll miss the snow!

Leave a Reply

