Day 1: Still Fleshing Out My Jana-Plan

AgedBeefCoolerJanathon started promptly with the New Year. I’m still thinking about my fitness goals for the month, but I did exercise & that’s good enough for now. Went for a brisk 2 mi. walk in the dark @5pm. I was cold & sullen on the mile out, but feeling warmer & happier on the mile back. It’s 12°F, but still clear. Heavy snow is supposed to start before morning, with a forecast of 12 to 14 inches over the next 24 hrs.

Per notmuchofarunner ‘s tips, I am including some superfluous interesting photos that have nothing to do with fitness. I don’t have a broken shoulder & if you wanna hear about my plantar fasciitis, you’ll have to read last year’s Day 1. What I do have is a photo of the aged beef cooler at the Capital Grille in Chestnut Hill, MA. Lucky for me, our party was seated across from the walk-in wine cellar instead. (I’m not keen on red meat.) I ordered the seared sushi-grade tuna, in contrast to the steaks & filets most other diners fancy. Either way, the food was fabulous! I meant to take glamour shots of the spinach salad w/warm bacon dressing, the asparagus grilled in lemon oil, the wild mushroom sauté, the layered chocolate-hazelnut cake… but I was so titillated, I simply forgot. Shall I blame the wine?

BlackNapkinBefore we left, my friend Nancy took this pic of me holding my black napkin. Upon seating us, the hostess had immediately removed the white cloth napkin from my table setting only & replaced it with a black one. Curious, I asked why.

“Your dress, madam,” she replied. “This will leave no white lint on your black dress.” I knew right then I could expect a unique dining adventure.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Day 1: Still Fleshing Out My Jana-Plan”

  1. cynthia Says:

    I have never had my lint matched to my outfit. I am bowled over, I have to say.

    • henniemavis Says:

      I know it, I was too. Of course, it’s a good thing I don’t have children to put thru college or I couldn’t afford to eat there even once. I was really hoping the coat-check girls would lose my tatty coat & accidentally bring me one of the fox furs I saw in there… or maybe the valet could’ve misplaced the Subaru & returned me a nice Maserati? No such luck ;-)

  2. travellinghopefully Says:

    Now that’s service!

  3. notmuchofarunner Says:

    Crikey me. I didn’t even realise that restaurants existed where they colour-matched napkins and dresses.

    This has NEVER happened to me. In fact, I’m lucky to eat anywhere that the napkins aren’t made out of paper.

    I know you said other stuff in your post but this its all I can focus on.

  4. paigesato Says:

    wow! what a fancy joint!

Leave a Reply

