Day 4: Boo Hoo, I Won’t Be Blue

Today’s Juneathon exercise was another measly mile walked, with less of a limp, thank God for that. Red Hen just reminded me that Hal Higdon’s Half Marathon training plan requires 12 wks., which means technically, I would need to start next week! (My race is September 1.) Will I be OK to slack a week or 2, since I was already doing 3mi./3mi./5mi. weeks in May? I hope to bounce back quickly, IF this injury heals well enough in 3 weeks to give slow jogging a chance? We’ll see…

The poster below features a bluebird, which I painted last month for a library event. I’ve had bluebirds on the brain lately, as we have a nesting pair in the yard & I see them frequently perched on the fence around our veggie garden. Some of you already know I’m a library volunteer artist & paint most of their event posters. I donate my time & the materials. The nature-based events are my favorite to publicize, as I love painting plants, bugs, birds & other creatures — tho I confess, I did enjoy painting this dumpster w/garbage. Variety is nice, I guess :-)

BirdingPoster

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Day 4: Boo Hoo, I Won’t Be Blue”

  1. travellinghopefully Says:

    There’s always room for a bit of slacking in a training plan.

    (translation: I always do a bit of slacking in a training plan)

  2. Lupo Grigio Says:

    Hope you get better every day! Love the photo and art!!! I did my exercises yesterday and today and walked a half hour yesterday–and ate tacos made by Graham at ML’s. BIG outing for me!

    • henniemavis Says:

      Mmm, tacos :-) Thanks for well wishes. Unfortunately, today is a “bad pain” day. I’m kinda the opposite of you. I’m completely fine when sitting down, but moving around (any weight bearing on right leg) hurts a lot :-(

  3. jo(e) Says:

    At a conference in Kansas last week, a colleague suggested renting bikes — and I have to say, it was so much more fun than running. The miles ticked by fast, and we got to see tons of scenery. I’m now thinking of buying bike as part of my exercise plan.

    • Lupo Grigio Says:

      I only WISH I could ride a bike!!!!!! Not any time soon! (I love biking, though!) And we have lots good biking trails in the parks around here.

    • henniemavis Says:

      I agree biking is wonderful, but it has its pros & cons just as running does. For example, I can always pack running as an exercise when I travel — but not biking. (I leave for Oregon tomorrow, so I’m sad I won’t be running while there.) I do have a bike & going places on it is super fun… see here or here :-) I highly recommend it. Have fun shopping for one!

  4. fortnightflo Says:

    Slack away and let that heal before you start any training Mrs!

  5. Red Hen Says:

    I just ADORE your art style on those posters. Beautifully done! Hope you can get into the swing of things with Hal Higdon. Thank you for the mention in your blog!

Leave a Reply

