Big Blizzard: 2 to 3 FEET of Snow Expected!

Source: Weather.com

Source: Weather.com

WOW. See the text in the ocean that reads “2-3 FT POSSIBLE”, with an arrow pointing into Southern New Hampshire just above the “B” in Boston? I live right about there. HA!

I love winter storms & this one might be a doozy. The snow is welcome, it’s the wind gusts they’re predicting that worry me. Our electricity goes out at the drop of a hat (case in point, my last 2 blog entries!). When it does go out, I never know if it will be for 8 hrs. or 8 days. Seriously. In a Dec. 2008 icestorm, we lost power & continued to have no electricity for 12 days. That’s our record so far & I do not want to break it, thank you very much.

As insurance, I got my weekly “long run” done today (only 3.25 mi., but that’s long for me right now), to be certain the snow won’t prevent it. Weather outstanding, I don’t want to let anyone down for Febulous — my team or myself! With my committed 3-miler out of the way, I can do any old run of random length as Run #3 for the week. No pressure! If we’re plowed out by Sunday morning, I think I’ll walk out the road to take photos of the snow, then run 2 miles home. I’m very happy that I have been able to run 3x per week all year so far, with no further aggravation to my foot :-)

The Stuffed Poblanos: Mmm, so spicy!

The stuffed Poblanos: Mmm, so spicy!

Other good news: I lost another 1.5 lbs., despite the fact that I’ve been cooking & eating very well. This week’s menu featured pumpkin-pecan-raisin bread, stuffed Poblano peppers, Avgolemono & a baked eggplant-tomato casserole. My only bad news is I may need to try giving up caffeine, in order to address some health issues I’m having. I stupidly tried going off it completely on Monday, only to get the Mother of All Headaches by Monday night — all night — and into Tuesday morning! Worst headache of my life. Since that miserable occurrence, I’m now shooting for a more reasonable “weaning-off” plan. Makes me a little sad to do this, as I love morning coffee & afternoon tea. But I really want to see if no/low caffeine makes a notable difference in how I feel. Per some Twitter advice from Mark, I’m trying to approach this purge-caffeine thing as an “interesting experiment.” Yeah, right!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Big Blizzard: 2 to 3 FEET of Snow Expected!”

  1. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    It does sound like yr eating really well–AND LOSING WEIGHT! WOW! We’re supposed to get 5 inches of snow, but it hasn’t started yet.

    • henniemavis Says:

      That’s right, you’re caffeine-free. Feel free to give advice, really! Show me that you love me! Don’t let K read this, ha ha ha :-)

      • Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

        I’ll tell you exactly what I did to wean myself off coffee–I used to drink a lot of it. I added 1/4 decaf for 3 days, then half decaf, then 3/4 decaf, then slowly less and less until I was drinking only decaf and after a while, (a fairly long while), that seemed boring and useless (since I wasn’t getting a kick out of it) and I gave it up entirely. There have been a few setback–like when I travel–long trip, my driving.

        I wish you luck with it. Let me tell you, it is hard to live in the world and in society when you can’t have coffee or sugar or alcohol. People don’t know what to do with you.

      • henniemavis Says:

        Very good advice! Don’t think I will want to entirely give it up, but I do need to cut way back & this is an excellent plan :-)

      • Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

        Hmm, waiting to hear if you have power. You probably already have extra blankets etc, right? This would not be something new.

  2. naturalgreentherapy Says:

    That worked well then – good for you. I hope it continues to pan out for the rest of February.

    Should I mention that I am having my morning cafe latte while I read this? ;-)

  3. naturalgreentherapy Says:

    Cutting down to just the morning coffee sounds like a good plan – followed by lots of water and herb teas. Enjoy! :-)

  4. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    So–is it snowing there? How much? DO you have power? (I guess, if not, you won’t see this question.) Stay safe and warm!!

    • henniemavis Says:

      5 inches so far, but it’s only 7:30pm & it’s supposed to blizzard all thru the night. That’s when our power is likely to go out, & when we are likely to get very deep snow (by morning). I’ll post when I wake up, IF I have power/Internet to do so! If you don’t hear from me on Saturday, you’ll know I’m in a another blackout period, ugh.

  5. notmuchofarunner Says:

    I love the fact you say, “as insurance… I got my long run in early” or some such.
    Not, “I bought a generator” or “got some extra blankets” or “got the camping cooker set up” etc

    :-)

  6. abradypus Says:

    I gave up caffeine years ago, and remember the withdrawal headache well. But as I’ve swapped daily headaches for very few headaches at all, I reckon it was worth it.

Leave a Reply

