Day 24: Warming Up to the End in Sight

WoodstoveClogsOnly a week until the end of Janathon. It’s always hardest near the end. I had such a good run yesterday, a good day across the board — I should’ve known today would be a lazy-backlash day. I didn’t feel like driving to the gym & back (20 min. each way) & had no other errands in that direction. I had a mind to simply do a 2 or 3 mi. walk from the house, as my easy & convenient Janathon du jour. But it was -5 °F (-21 °C) when I woke. And it only “warmed up” to 10 °F (-12 °C) during the day.

So I drove to the gym, numbly changed into my biking shorts, got on the Expresso bike & rode 8.4 miles. I didn’t stay with my pacer, or try to beat my prior best time. I just pedaled until it was over. Then I stretched, pulled my sweatshirt, jeans & coat right over my fitness clothes & drove my pathetic, unmotivated self straight home.

Not my brightest moment, but it counts. Every day can’t be a shiny one. And now I’m parked on the couch with a hot cup of tea in front of a blazing woodstove. That’s better. Life as it should be. Bathtime in 5 minutes. Goodnight!

WoodstoveFire

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Day 24: Warming Up to the End in Sight”

  1. abradypus Says:

    Couch + tea + stove = Mmmmmmm!

  2. travellinghopefully Says:

    Those temperatures put me to shame (I’ve been whinging about it feeling like -8C…)

  3. plustenner Says:

    oooh, that fire looks GOOD

Leave a Reply

