Day 20: Sports Fail (Not Me, the Patriots)

After another mostly lazy day, I dragged into the gym. I’m saving my heels for tomorrow’s Jantastic weekly Run #1, so I Janathoned with 40 min. on the ARC trainer at a full sweat (interval program, Level 6). Same cardio as a run, good pushing of the leg muscles, but no pounding of the feet. Afterward, I did my full stretching regime & a good long plank.

Books&MagsI got sucked into the start of the New England Patriots game while at the gym, so I came home, made dinner & cleaned up, while they proceeded to blow their chance at the SuperBowl (Baltimore clinched it in the 4th quarter). I swear, New England teams are a bummer. I’m pretty clueless about football — barely know how the game is played, frankly — but I do like to see my region of the country excel at something. Unfortunately, it ain’t sports. I’ve been getting kinda into baseball these past 2 years, but oh, the Boston Red Sox continue to break my heart. Guess I’ll have to stick to watching the Boston Marathon every year & call it a day.

Fortunately, I can close with some good news: I lost 2 lbs. this week. Very encouraging! Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m gonna go slump on the couch in front of the woodstove before Monday kicks in. I’m partway thru all 4 of the items pictured above & am looking forward to an hour of reading before bed. Goodnight!

Tags: , , ,

13 Responses to “Day 20: Sports Fail (Not Me, the Patriots)”

  1. notmuchofarunner Says:

    Oh well … Less time watching sport = more time for the reading. Well done on the 2lb !

  2. travellinghopefully Says:

    Yay you for the weight loss! And think of me in a fortnight – we’re down in London on Super Bowl weekend, apparently we’re finding a pub that has the game on. I hope they’re very tolerant of people having a bit of a snooze….

    • henniemavis Says:

      That’s quite a trip (4-5 hrs.?), will you drive or train? I’m impressed by your dedication to American sports — moreso than mine, HA! Have fun! I remember telling you last fall that my brother-in-law is a big 49ers fan. He’s happy to see his team in the final match, but will be happier still if they WIN :-)

      • travellinghopefully Says:

        We’re actually in London for the Janathon pizza, were going to do it as a day trip but there’s a concert that I want to go to on the Sunday, so we’ve made a weekend out of it! It’s not too bad, just a couple of hours on the train (weather permitting…).

      • henniemavis Says:

        Lovely! Have a great time! I hope your team wins??? HA!

  3. Lupo Grigio Says:

    Keep up the good work. We walked around downtown in the cultural area–it was cold and very windy and we were freezing. I had a problem with my timing watch, but K says we walked well over forty five-minutes (my goal) maybe an hour or more. I was so cold that I was cold all evening afterwards.

    Congrats on the weight loss. Good work!

  4. CJ Morgan Says:

    New England was one of the last four teams standing. That’s not winning the Super Bowl, but I wouldn’t call it a total fail either. There were 28 other teams that wished they got that far. At least you still had a team to root for Sunday.

  5. plustenner Says:

    congratulations on the 2 pounds!

  6. Shannon Says:

    LONG LIVE THE 49ERS. They won’t face the Pats in the Superbowl, but whatever. The Pats aren’t the team that matters. : )

  7. Paige Sato Says:

    as a misplaced Mainer, I feel your pain. Plus, i bet on the patriots in pavement runner’s #milesofshame, so now i’m in for a 15 mile run. WTF?

    • henniemavis Says:

      Ouch! I’ve been known to make risky bets too (see the painting I lost to gambling debt here). I’m slowly starting to learn my lesson. I didn’t put my neck out on this one, thank God! Good luck on your redemption run, yikes.

Leave a Reply

