Day 15: Running, Roses & Romance

CAroseKnowing a rest would be best for my recovering foot after yesterday’s run, I took an easy Janathon day. I did a one-hour strength training class w/some cardio-lifting of hand weights & rode only 2 mi. on the Expresso bike. While I did these things, I longed to run again. Tomorrow, I get to do weekly Run#2 for Jantastic. I can hardly wait :-)

JWwaterhouseRoseWith my foot healing & my passion for running on the rise, I’m feeling passionate about lots of things in general. Feeling strong of body fills my head & heart with all kinds of silly wonder :-) I’m not sure if it’s an artist thing, a girl thing, or if it’s just my personality. Oh, isn’t this rose gorgeous? It was in our Californian friends’ yard. It smelled divine! Smelling it reminded me of a favorite John William Waterhouse painting, The Soul of the Rose. Now I’m in a soulful romantic mood. I think I’ll go watch Pride & Prejudice. Not the ridiculous 2005 Keira Knightley version, ew. I like the really good one: the 1995 BBC mini-series with Jennifer Ehle & Colin Firth. Mr. Darcy, what a delish dish :-)

Tags: , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Day 15: Running, Roses & Romance”

  1. travellinghopefully Says:

    Ah…damp Colin Firth…

  2. CJ Morgan Says:

    I remember telling you I liked the 1940 version starring Greer Garson and you quipped back that she was a “dog face”. That still cracks me up.

    • henniemavis Says:

      Ms. Garson’s unfortunate looks aside, the 1940s version is not so well-costumed & the dialogue is much less sophisticated. Even taking the darkly sexy Mr. Firth out of the equation, the 1995 version is simply a better Jane Austen production (Hollywood ruined it while the BBC got it right). My blog & I say so, HA!

  3. Lupo Grigio Says:

    I haven’t seen either movie, but I sure did like the clip!!! I read the book, but only once, long enough ago that I don’t remember the details. gorgeous photography (cinematography!). Just the little clip made me cry. Congrats on your continuing exercise. I walked 55 minutes yesterday.

  4. plustenner Says:

    brilliant! thanks so much for putting that clip on!

  5. abradypus Says:

    Mmmm. Definitely the best adaptation :-)

Leave a Reply

