Day 7: I Drove in England & Lived to Tell

ParkingCCA month ago, my doctor told me she believes the full body ARC trainer to be the closest gym workout to running without actually doing so. Just what I wanted to hear, since I need to minimize “heel striking” in order to save my foot. I miss being able to run more often. I miss what it did for my core, my weight, my mood. I do like the ARC trainer by now. It does seem to be a close substitute. I did 20 min. on it again today (interval program, Level 6), but… I still miss running.

So… I’m going to start running again. A little bit at a time, a slow build-up. I will watch my foot carefully for regression. Meanwhile, I will be giving my all toward its care, to prevent regression. (I probably should have gotten that 2nd cortisone shot, but oh well, too late now.)

I did an interval walk-run on the treadmill today. I rolled back to Week 5 of the Couch-to-5K training plan, just to be sure I stick to a slow build-up. I’m committed to 3 runs per week for the rest of the month, to continue testing my foot. It was hard. Not the running — the stopping to walk in between! Today called for 1/4 mi. walk, 1/2 mi. run, repeated twice, ending with a 1/4 mi. walk cooldown… so I walked a total of a 1 mi. & ran a total of 1.5 mi. (@10:00 pace). I didn’t want to stop, but I did. Then I stretched my legs & feet, foam rollered my calves, hams, quads, ITband. I am icing right now, as I sit & blog. That’s the deal I made with me (the devil). I adhere to a build-up plan & the day I run the plan, I immediately stretch, roll, ice. I’ll sleep in my boot religiously & stretch every morning. I’m going to do this. It’s the only way I will have a chance to consider training for a half marathon this year. I had to sit out most of last year, waiting for my plantar fasciitis to go away. I’m not getting any younger. I cannot afford to pass up another year, so I will see if there’s a way I can train slowly & heal at the same time? I have to know.

TrainSignNow, some fun: today’s pic is me, in utter relief after a day of UK driving-survival! I’ve just parked our rental car @ the Noel Arms Hotel (a lovely place to stay, btw). Driving in England was terrifying — from Bourton-on-the-Water to Swindon (where I’d just met abradypus for the 1st time & ran a Parkrun, yay!), then on to Chipping Campden. Very stressful (no sat-nav either!), being as everything is exactly opposite of what we are taught in the US. In Leeds, I could barely cross the street safely on foot, as I was always looking the wrong way when I stepped off the pavement.

I much preferred the trains, which we used when in urban areas. The only train-related fear I had was perhaps on a teeny platform in Twyford, when the Paddington Express came tearing through. Mums, mind your trams, you say? At least they have “nappies” on hand. I could have used one myself :-)

[Photo credit: S. Golden, talented sister & UK traveling companion]

Tags: , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Day 7: I Drove in England & Lived to Tell”

  1. travellinghopefully Says:

    I cannot tell you the number of times that I have nearly been squished when we’ve been in the States! Good luck with getting back into training – just don’t forget to take it easy! Oh, and that has to be the best tag ever…

    • henniemavis Says:

      Glad we both survived being foreigners :-) And thank you for the compliment. I’ve been taking “creative use of tagging” lessons from notmuchofarunner ;-)

  2. Shaz Says:

    Bourton on the water is lovely. Well done for surviving the British roads, not easy even when you are used to it!

  3. notmuchofarunner Says:

    Ooooo… Be careful!

  4. abradypus Says:

    Your driving was a triumph :)

  5. paigesato Says:

    I admire your steeliness with regards to stretching, foam rolling and icing. I always cut my post-run routine short, and since I’m the same age as Cindy Crawford, I need to be more mindful to get and stay injury-free. Good for you!

  6. Catherine Says:

    getting back to training after injury is sooo difficult…I really sympathise. Good luck!

  7. peggy fussell Says:

    I could never drive in England. I get nervous when I am watching a tv show on BBC and someone gets into the passenger side of the car, then the car mysteriously starts to roll….right into oncoming traffic!!!! It always takes way too long for me to realize that’s normal driving and not part of the plot.

    • henniemavis Says:

      Hi, Peggy! I feel very lucky we didn’t kill anyone, get killed or get pulled over. Are you OK driving in Canada? With the whole kilometer thing? That was confusing too.

Leave a Reply

