Day 6: Returning to England Vicariously

SpeckHenAleI wanted to snowshoe again today, but a surprise blister surfaced last night from yesterday’s speedy jaunt, proving that another day in heavy leather boots would be foolhardy. Off to the gym I went!

My favorite Expresso virtual bikes were occupied, so I chose the Cybex ARC Trainer again. I did a 40-min., Level 5 interval program, keeping my heart rate surging between 148-160. The reading at the end said I went 2 mi. with 600+ cal. burned… but when I run on the treadmill in the same target zone, I go 4 mi. in 40 min. & burn under 500 cal.? Something’s amiss. Nevertheless, I had the time & energy for some biking afterward, but I got a rowing machine since the bikes were still occupied (by 2 new riders). Rowed for 10 min. (2080 m), then bailed for some stretching & a shower just before the gym closed. Last one out. Typical :-)

I’d previously planned to list my 2013 goals today, but am too tired by now to be seriously self-reflective. Meh, there’s always tomorrow. Hey, I’ll type this: my 2013 goal is to have my 2013 goals on my blog before the end of 2013. Resolved!

FishChipPeas

Know what else occurred to me today? I never posted much about my trip to UK last summer. It will amuse & motivate me to pair my Janathon reports with snapshot memories of my trip, so… I give you my first (& only) fish ‘n’ chips on British soil! Oxford, to be exact. Yes, we have fish ‘n’ chips here, but we do not have “mushy peas”, which is exactly why I wanted to try this dish. Very nice, those peas. As was my ale. Note: this was not my first (nor my only) ale drunk on British soil. That’s all I’m sayin’.

Tags: , , ,

13 Responses to “Day 6: Returning to England Vicariously”

  1. notmuchofarunner Says:

    Gym new year newbs… They’ll be gone before February and you can have the bikes again.
    I want some fish & chips now.

  2. Sarah Says:

    That fish and chip supper looks delicious! I love mushy peas :)

  3. travellinghopefully Says:

    Oooooh, you’ve got me fancying a chippy tea now and it’s only Monday…

  4. CJ Morgan Says:

    Yes, you will have to contend with the new year newbs for a few more weeks. I have not really seen them this year at my gym, as I have only been going at off peak hours.

  5. henniemavis Says:

    @notmuch & CJMorgan: I’m trying to be patient & supportive of those who want to exercise more in 2013 (me, too)… but… my inner-meanie says “Get OFF my bikes!!!”

    @travellinghope: “a chippy tea”, mmmm! Don’t know what that means, but it sure sounds cheery & delightful, so it must be good :-)

  6. Mark Staub (@markxtweet) Says:

    That food looks great!

  7. John Says:

    If you have chips and mushy peas from a chip shop here its called a mixture. I bet you’re glad I told you that!

  8. paigesato Says:

    while i’ve never had mushy peas, I LOVE speckled hen!

  9. CJ Morgan Says:

    Mushy peas are not hard to come by stateside, you can easily find them in any baby food aisle. Anyhow, what is the deal with those peas, are you supposed to dip your chips in them or eat them like a side of coleslaw?

  10. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    OOOooh, that’s making me hungry!!!! Congrats on your good work. Mine fell by the wayside on this last trip due to all our difficulties. :-( (I missed two days!)

  11. peggy fussell Says:

    I tried mushy peas in a pub in Washington DC and loved them! I’ve been mushing mine ever since. The fish and the ale look mighty yummy too!

Leave a Reply

