Day 5: My Snowy Janathon World

I was lazy today. By that I mean I did not drive to the gym, but did my exercise on the snowy landscape just outside my dooryard. I put on 2 kinds of appropriate footwear…

SnowBootsSnowshoes

I put on an appropriate calm-but-determined Janathon game face…

WinterMe

I started moving my legs to get warm!

SnowshoesOn

I took the same path I did last Sunday but alone this time, looping around the field, then through the woods & back. I saw lots of animal tracks — of mice, squirrels, deer, coyote & turkey. I also had irrational yet fleeting fears of being pounced upon by a pack of (frequently heard nearby, but not today) coyotes or by an (unprecedented in my region) mountain lion…

SquirrelDig

Hole dug by a hungry squirrel who did NOT receive the Costco Winter Wonderland Tower of Treats for Christmas (see Day 4)

When I returned, I did an extra loop around the field to take this beautiful photo of the sun setting behind the ridge along the marsh. (Oh, alright, I really just wanted to bag an even 2-mile route.)

SnowMarsh

I went at a fast pace, not only for warmth but to keep my heartrate up. Made good time too, as my energy level was up (from a couple bites of toffee kibble before I left, if you must know). If you’ve ever snowshoed in deep snow, you’ll know it’s a legit workout. My boots are heavy, then add the weight of the snowshoes (2.2 lbs. each), plus the resistance of any snow that kicks up onto the shoes with each step. The snow itself can make this variable. Light, dry snow & you sink deeper, but it’s easier lifting your feet. Wet snow is really soft & heavy, can double the effort. A frozen crust allows you to walk on top with little effort & hopefully no accidental “post-holing”… oh goodness, you know how Eskimoes have endless words for snow? It’s no wonder.

Tomorrow, I plan to finalize my 2013 goals & publish them. I also plan to grocery shop & pay bills. We’ll see what happens :-)

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Day 5: My Snowy Janathon World”

  1. plustenner Says:

    tahts a LOT of snow, whereabouts are you?

  2. travellinghopefully Says:

    Lions and tigers and bears, oh my!

Leave a Reply

