Freewheeling Dragonflies

I’ve been seeing swarms of dragonflies in our yard & sometimes on the dirt road where I walk. Hundreds of them, flying together over a small area. When I go to where they’ve gathered, they don’t disperse. I can walk thru them. They don’t collide with me, but instead swerve slightly, to accommodate my passage. I hear the loud clattering of their wings as they motor by. It’s an event that signals the end of summer.

This attempt at capturing them looks like I’m filming the hens on our lawn, but if you look closely, you’ll see numerous dragonflies in the air. Viewing hint: Once you click the “play” arrow to start the video, continue to mouse-over to the right until you see the 4-arrows symbol between the words “HD” & “Vimeo.” That’s the “full screen” icon. If you click on it, you’ll see the video in a larger format, which makes the dragonflies much easier to see. Sorry about the poor videography. I was figuring out how to use the video feature of my camera as I rushed out there, hoping I wouldn’t miss my chance!

These swarms occur for short periods (maybe an hour?) in late August thru September, in a specific area of their choosing, which can be the same or different day to day. It’s usually a location that’s warm (but not too hot) & calm (no breeze), usually in the late afternoon (note the long shadows & sound of crickets). I thought they might be finding insects as food, but I never see them actually catching anything or stopping to eat? To me, they seem to be whirling around in play, joy-riding back & forth for no reason at all.

After filming this, I laid in the grass for another 20 minutes, just watching. Moments like this make my tiny life worthwhile :-)

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Freewheeling Dragonflies”

  1. mary taitt Says:

    Sweet! Barred rocks, Buff Orpingtons? and strafing dragonflies, sunshine and sweep of field. Can’t wait to visit. :-D YAY!

  2. runorgocrazy Says:

    Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

