Juneathon Day 28: Making Up for Lost Time

I’m tired (residual jetlag?) so I’ll rush thru this. Yesterday, I posted about my 5K Parkrun on June 23rd in Swindon, UK, but neglected to mention that I did ride 4.5 mi. on the Expresso bike at my gym. Today, I’ll post about a past & present day of fitness as well.

When I was in Leeds (June 17 thru 19th), I was staying at a Marriott with my sister, who was attending a workshop at the University. I’d be on my own during the day, so upon arrival, I looked in on the hotel’s “Leisure Club.” I’d read that it was a kind of gym-away-from-home. They had freeweights, bikes, treadmills, even a huge pool! (Consequently, I’d packed my swimsuit & goggles.) They also had a lockerroom, sauna, jacuzzi. Pretty impressive for an interim fitness plan. The first day, I took the train to spend a day in York (magnificent!)… but on the 2nd day in Leeds, I was tired. I decided to get a pedicure & just hang out in the gym.

I swam for 35 min., then took 15 min. in the jacuzzi. After drying off & changing into shorts, I did a 30 min. strength workout w/handweights & some abwork on the mat. Then I rode the bike for 20 min., before going back to my room for a shower. It was really nice. I also had the fun of weighing myself in “stones” for the first time. I’m 11 stones :-)

In addition to the formal gym exercise, I did a lot of walking around downtown Leeds during the day (shopping), plus out to dinner at night… which was a good way to counterbalance the fact that I ate half an order of sticky toffee pudding 3 nights in a row, yum!

So, that was then & this is now. Today, I walked 3 mi. with my friend Jaime. As nice as it was to meet some British Juneathon friends in person, it’s a comfort to get back with my at-home fitness pals as well.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Juneathon Day 28: Making Up for Lost Time”

  1. Jaime Says:

    Aawww shucks that’s nice

  2. travellinghopefully Says:

    I like the novelty of weighing myself in other units sometimes, preferably ones that I have no understanding of…

  3. notmuchofarunner Says:

    Why only half portions of pudding? You don’t leave half do you? That’s actually a crime you know.

  4. peggy fussell Says:

    It sounds like you had a lovely time! Now I am very curious to know how many stones I weight! I’d better go over there and find out, preferably before I eat a WHOLE portion of sticky toffee pudding.

Leave a Reply

