Juneathon Day 27: Still Smiling About England

I’m finally back home in the USA, after having the absolute best time in England. I was so busy touring cities, trying to learn British history, taking pictures, hiking the countryside, eating nearly everything in sight & trying to meet up with other Juneathoners that I simply didn’t have the time or energy to blog much. But wow, did I have FUN :-)

Here’s some proof that I exercised during my travels — I even have a British witness! I was lucky enough to safely drive from Bourton-on-the-Water to Swindon & meet Abradypus for my first ever 5K Parkrun. I was very excited. Despite my bad left foot (plantar fasciitis), complicated by a skinned knee from an unfortunately-timed fall on the cobbled streets of Bath only 2 days prior, I was able to run the 5K distance successfully. Abradypus was patient enough to stay with me despite my slower pace, tho I insisted she put on a burst near the end. My time was 32:13, which isn’t too bad considering that I haven’t run but once in 2 months & my top 5K speed is usually 29-30 minutes when I’m in perfect health. I confess, I was sore to the point of limping that afternoon & evening, but by the next morning I was 90% recovered & still tickled to have finally met my across-the-pond Sloth heroine. Totally worth it!

Besides being an impressive runner, Abradypus was a lovely person. She surprised me with a commemorative & scrummy souvenir of my first Parkrun. Gosh, British folks are awfully nice! By the time I drove to Chipping Campden that afternoon, that chocolate champagne bottle had become a tumbler. Mmmmm, oops :-)

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Juneathon Day 27: Still Smiling About England”

  1. abradypus Says:

    It was lovely to meet you. Glad to hear the champagne went down smoothly ;)

  2. notmuchofarunner Says:

    Well done you for some hardcore ‘injured, but still running’ action! And to Louise for being nice :-)

Leave a Reply

