Juneathon Day 12: Play “Trounce the American” in Swindon on June 23rd

That’s right, UK-Juneathon cyberpals, you’re invited to kick my sorry American bum in person at a 5K race, simply by showing up at the Swindon Parkrun on Saturday, June 23rd. Even at my best, I’m slow… so with my left foot still quite lame, you’re guaranteed a win! Abradypus has graciously helped me plan to fulfill a glorious dream: to do a Parkrun in the UK while on my vacation, & during Juneathon no less! Over the last few days, she’s researched a Parkrun near enough to where I’ll be on my only Saturday in England & offered to meet me there… if I can manage to arrive, by not getting killed for driving a rental car on the wrong side of the road, or going the wrong direction on a “roundabout”.

I’m very excited to meet the illustrious Sloth herself & I hope other Juneathoners will consider coming out to join us for the run, er, fun! In addition to finishing a wonderful Parkrun, you could also enjoy other sport, such as making fun of my poor understanding of British vocabulary or my hesitation to try black pudding or Marmite — which is more off-putting? I just can’t decide.

To be sure my foot rests for the Swindon race, I did not run today. Instead, I did an hour of strength training with handweights at the gym as my Juneathon exercise du jour. And by the way, I will not be wearing this t-shirt at the Parkrun. I was, however, wearing it at my niece’s graduation party. I wanted to play volleyball, but not in my nice linen blouse, so I had to borrow a t-shirt from my brother-in-law. As you can see, the selection was grim.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Juneathon Day 12: Play “Trounce the American” in Swindon on June 23rd”

  1. abradypus Says:

    Graciously helped = shamelessly strong armed lol. I’ve been looking for an excuse to run Swindon for ages!

  2. Lupo Grigio Says:

    ha ha ha I love that picture! FUN-EEEEE! LOL!

    Keep up the good work and have fun in England!

  3. psychojog365 Says:

    Well done! It’s so exciting you’re coming over! I’ve never done a park run!!

  4. fortnightflo Says:

    Black Pudding is the devils wor, DO NOT GO ANYWHERE NEAR IT!

Leave a Reply

