Juneathong Day 7: The “g” is Not a Type-O

Still no organized plan for Juneathon. Since I can’t run this time, I’ve been winging it by mixing up my fitness choices… but I really hoped I’d have concocted a clever theme by now. As June is a popular month for weddings & honeymoons, I got thinking it would be fun to — er, um, consummate — frequently as the exercise challenge :-)

I suggested this to my husband, who seemed eager to consider the idea at first. His enthusiasm flagged when reminded that Juneathon is a daily challenge. He then confessed he’d probably have dropped out by Day 5. And he certainly wasn’t keen on me blogging my day-to-day experiences, either. But I still say, that would definitely count as exercise, it would pose a true challenge (especially after 13 yrs. of marriage) & it would prevent me from further sports injury… unless things got really crazy? HA! Oh well, maybe next year then.

Meanwhile, I tried a Cardio Boxing class at the gym for today’s workout. First time at this & wow, it was fun! I learned a lot. Jab, jab, jab, crosscut, uppercut, duck, duck, bob & weave. Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee! I felt a little silly & clunky at first, but by the end of class, my jabs & kicks had some snap.

That was all good. The bad news is it may not have been the best choice for resting my lame foot. There was a lot of bouncing around — jumping rope, jumping jacks, hopping forward & back. My heel is definitely a little sore as I sit here typing. Hope my ankle doesn’t swell up again, like after my pre-Juneathon test run back on May 28. I’m off the anti-inflammatory meds since I got my orthotics a few days ago. I didn’t mean to foul my recovery. I never was any good at sitting still. 

In honor of June as the month of weddings & workouts (both naughty & benign), today’s photo is my former fitness instructor & her new hubby. They were married a week ago Saturday & are honeymooning in St. John, Virgin Islands. Congratulations, Heather & Corey!

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Juneathong Day 7: The “g” is Not a Type-O”

  1. Lesley Boniface Says:

    That is so funny, we’ll have to rename you Mohammed Ali ! Go careful with that foot x

  2. runorgocrazy Says:

    You’ve probably heard this but gently roll a 500ml frozen water bottle under your foot and hold it under your heel for 5-10 mins.

    Loved the theme idea!!

  3. Shaz Says:

    Think I’d rather run every dy and that’s saying something!

  4. Shannon Says:

    Heather is GORGEOUS.

  5. Lupo Grigio Says:

    Hope yr foot is OK!!!!! Hope it’s getting better again.

    Ha ha–I like yr challenge to consummate frequently.

Leave a Reply

