Juneathon Day 3: The “Dig for Victory” Garden Workout

Every World War II enthusiast’s favorite Juneathon workout, the “Dig for Victory” offers you strength then exhaustion like never before! If you follow my simple plan, you’ll build muscle, patriotism & your future food pantry with a smile. Added bonus: you’ll get filthy & look like you’ve had an authentic day in the trenches :-)

That’s right, people, I’m counting gardening for Juneathon. Deservedly so, I think you’ll agree — but first, I’d like to point out that I did take a 4 mi. power walk w/my friend Teres this morning (we go fast & breathless, but without running) out to Willard Pond. Later in the day, I added the following:

– pushing heavy wheelbarrow loaded with horseshit over cloddy field (chest-press/forward lunge combination)

– hoeing deep potato rows (bicep/tricep combo)

– picking up endless rocks while hoeing (forward bends)

– planting over 200 onions (side-step/squat combo)

Shown below are my potato rows before adding horseshit to cover (my blog, so I can say “horseshit” repeatedly). Also, the garlic row I planted last fall, which is quite sturdy by now & sporting some accidental lettuce which came up from last year’s windblown seed. Fresh summer eating is almost here, yum! If you’re curious to see how serious I am about gardening, click here. To follow World War II Real Time Tweets on Twitter, click here. To hear a duck quack, click here.

Still no plan for the month. Whatcha gonna do.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Juneathon Day 3: The “Dig for Victory” Garden Workout”

  1. kimbomagic66 Says:

    Deserves funniest Juneathon blog by a mile!!! Hilarious! :DDD

  2. abradypus Says:

    No doubt stall that gardening is valid Juneathon exercise, given the extreme level of DOMS I get whenever I do any :)

  3. Shaz Says:

    That looks like hard work

  4. Lupo Grigio Says:

    YAY Gardening! Woohoo! Definitely a workout. Well, I’m not doing Juneathon, but I’ve walked every day so far and gardened too.

  5. Lawn distance « runtezza Says:

    […] manage to coincide in time. That left me with the lawn to mow, and a bit of weeding. Inspired by Henniemavis’ horticultural workout plan, I blitzed the grass and gave the dandelions hell. Feeling pretty good now, especially as […]

  6. notmuchofarunner Says:

    Wow. Good going! Proper workout!

Leave a Reply

