Juneathon Day 2: Fumbling Along…

Went to gym today, biked 7.5 mi. on the Expresso bike. In my haste to do so before the gym closed @ 4pm (they close early on weekends), I forgot to log-in. I chose a virtual program, but accidentally rode as a “guest”, which means my miles didn’t register. (Fortunately, I know that program’s 7.5 mi. distance, since I’ve ridden it before.) I’m so disorganized these days. Too much going on with work & my trip planning & household chores & now Juneathon! But exercise is important, yes it is. Everything is important to me, that’s the problem.

I’d planned to switch to the rowing machine & then some strength training, but the Boston Red Sox game was on in the 7th inning & they were actually winning for a change (rare this season). I got distracted. In order to pick up the TV sound (digital signal) on my headset, I had to be close to the TV sets, which are smack in front of the bikes, but far from the rowing machine & weightstations. So I rode the bike til the 9th inning, when I got kicked out of the gym @4:05pm, despite the game NOT being over! Had to wait til I got home to be sure of the win. Trust me, the Sox are famous for blowing the game, despite a healthy lead going into the bottom of the 9th. Really annoying. (Please don’t bring up last year’s decisive Wild Card playoff game, where they did just that & threw their chance at the World Series. Grrr.)

To prove I’m not giving up all chance of sleep in June, today’s photos represent something to which I just said NO. My volunteer poster painting for our town library is officially on hold. I do their event posters each month. I did this Ella Fitzgerald one yesterday, then decided I would need to take the month of June off. It’s too much, with all the aforementioned issues. That’s the cool thing about being a volunteer. I can give myself a break when I need it. The other poster shown, about the hoarder clean-up, was fun to do. I’ve drawn & painted many things in my artistic career… but this was my first ever “dumpster w/trashbags art”, HA! My talent reached a new low ;-)

That presentation topic may sound weird, btw, but it was really interesting & informative. The PowerPoint show was awesome (yes, curiosity got me so I had to see it). I’ll be well prepared to clean out my parent’s house smartly & efficiently, if/when they pass on suddenly. My folks are not hoarders, so my job will be easy by comparison.

Still no outlined plan for Juneathon. Whatever.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Juneathon Day 2: Fumbling Along…”

  1. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    Cogratulations on a second day on the bike. I love your posters, especially the trash one–the dumpster with trash bags is wonderfully rendered. Boy didn’t I have that experience with my mother and somewhat with my aunt, and if I am not careful, someone will have it with ME!

    I do think the cross training of biking and rowing etc is a great idea and maybe your injury was a blessing in disguise, but hoe it clears up soon!!!!

  2. jo(e) Says:

    I love seeing the posters! How did it get to be June already?

  3. Paige Alexander Sato Says:

    Love the Red Sox! Love the posters! Love Juneathon!

  4. abradypus Says:

    Sounds like a busy day/week. Yay about the American football / basketball / baseball / ice hockey game, even if I didn’t understand a word of the description ;)

Leave a Reply

