Juneathon Day 1: Already A Winner!

Well, today marks the start of another Juneathon. I’m still scrambling for a plan. I do know I won’t be able to run daily, as I’ve done in past June/Janathons. My left foot is still messed up. I’m really depressed about it. I got thru Janathon 2012 when my plantar fasciitis was just getting started, pumped up on drugs, running a total of 68 mi. for the month. I thought I could beat it easily. Really dumb, cuz after that, my foot got a lot worse (see blogposts just prior to this one). The anti-inflammatory medication seemed to be helping, then not. The stretches, foot rollering, wearing Superfeet shoe inserts… still nothing. I get my custom graphite orthotics this Monday. Maybe those will help? I haven’t been running, doctor’s orders. I’m so sad. This time, my main goal will have to be protecting & healing my foot while finding other ways to exercise.

Two weeks ago when I signed up, I was still hopeful I would be able to run by now. I’ve done everything the foot doctor has told me to do. I deserve to be able to run! But I did a test jog 4 days ago (first run since March 26) & my left foot is killing me again, plus my ankle swelled halfway up my lower calf. Why me? I was supposed to be training for my first half marathon by now. Instead, I’m hoping to run without pain any time before the end of the year.

So… I want to Juneathon so I will, but I’m going to have to get creative & mix it up. Not sure how I will manage, but I want to, so I will. It’s that simple. Can’t wait to see what other participants are planning & doing. I hope everyone will have good motivation, good luck, good fun & most of all, have NO injuries!

OK, on to the daily report: I rode 10 mi. on the Expresso bike at my gym today. That’s my formal exercise du jour. My informal exercise was mowing the grass. If you saw our hilly yard, you’d know this is more of a workout than the bike! And here’s the best news of all. June 1st also marks the first day of my FREE gym membership! Last month, I won a contest which entitled me to either a new iPad or a free one-year membership at my gym. I took the membership, of course! It’s a great prize (a $780 value, wow!). I won’t have to pay member dues again until June 2013. That’s why I’m already a winner :-)

8 Responses to “Juneathon Day 1: Already A Winner!”

  1. mary taitt Says:

    I just left a long happy comment congratulating you for your first day and the effort you put into finding an alternative and winning the gym membership etc–and said I’d have probably taken the iPad and that’s why I tend to be heavy–and wordpress ate my comment–I forgot what an ordeal it is for me to leave a comment here. I WAS HAPPY and proud of you and excited for you. (Now I’m a little annoyed!)

    Anyway, I wish you much luck completing Junathon without harming your foot.

  2. runtezza Says:

    Formal AND informal exercise? Very comprehensive! Sorry to hear about the injury but hope it gets better as you find a creative way through Juneathon.

  3. runrencerun Says:

    Morning Heidi, shame about the foot but great news about the gym, it must be fate, somebody/thing out there knows how committed to Juneathon you are, and has gifted you an opportunity to work round your injury. Thanks for your comment on mine, just got to work when the email came through

  4. notmuchofarunner Says:

    It’s a little known fact that an anagram of ‘Plantar fasciitis’ = Persistent fascist sh*tiness!
    Don’t push it. Do what you need to do.

  5. Running Dan Says:

    That’s a real shame about the injury but it’s great that you are still taking part. What a fantastic prize to win!

  6. AmyW (@amerbob) Says:

    Yikes. I understand your pain – was out of action for 5 months last year with PF and still get pain after running now if I overdo and fail to stretch out properly. Good luck with Juneathon, there are loads of things that you could try. I took up Pilates at the beginning of the year and love it more than I thought I ever would. I also love a good swim too. Why not make it your plan to try as many new things as possible this month and report back on your blog? Take care x

  7. abradypus Says:

    As creative is your speciality, I have no doubt that you’ll find a way to complete Juneathon in style despite the *#%# foot :)

  8. shazruns Says:

    Sorry to hear of the injury. Congrats on gym membership win and also on that bie ride I would have fallen off with boredom!

Leave a Reply

