February: New Month, Progressive Plans

It’s been a week since Janathon ended. I have enjoyed a rest from obsessive running, logging & blogging. I had an especially relaxing weekend. My brunch & latest library book are shown above, how I spent my late Sunday morning. Tho I took a break from running every day, I still ran some days & exercised every day. I’ve been to the gym, ridden the bikes there, taken strength classes, even went ice skating outdoors for an hour with friends! I am still focused on my New Year’s Resolutions & am making some progress.

I’ve lost 7 lbs. to date. My first weigh-in was on Jan. 2, so that’s 1.4 lbs. lost per week (5 wks.), which is encouraging. I’m almost at a “normal” body mass index (BMI)… but until I lose 9 more lbs., I am still considered “overweight” by current medical standards. And wouldn’t you know, I think the entire 9 lbs. is around my stupid waist! Built like an oak not a willow, I am. My husband jokes that a “sturdy wife” is a good wife, but I won’t be humored until I lose 9 more pounds! Meanwhile, this sturdy wife’s still doing some outdoor runs to keep her hardy (at right, dressed for the weather).

I’m also making some progress on learning to swim. I have been in the pool several times this week. I can do a sort of made-up breast stroke across the pool, so I do it over & back, over & back, until I’m tired. I also committed to a weekly water aerobics class, now that I don’t have to run everyday (timesaver). The class involves helpful swimming skills like flutter-kicking & pushing water with my arms/hands. In 2 weeks, I’m going to visit my sister in NC. She’s a swimmer & is going to give me a few lessons at her YMCA pool. When I get back, I will need to practice, practice, practice! And maybe hire a trainer at the gym for a few additional lessons, as needed. Then maybe, just maybe, I will know how to swim?

And finally, I promised to answer Eleven Things which Tegan at Tegan Running asked of me in a game. The game rules are:
1. You must post these rules.
2. Each person must post 11 things about themselves on their blog.
3. Answer the questions the tagger (in my case, Tegan) set for you in their post and create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer.

Here’s what Tegan asked, with my answers:
1. If you could be any animal what would you be and why? Does a bird count as an “animal” ? If I were to be any creature, I would pick a bird. I love birds. A songbird, or an owl perhaps. I would want to fly. And nest. I would like both.

2. Where did you grow up? In Pennsylvania (USA). First, in Philadelphia suburbs, then later, in farm country near Lancaster County… we moved around when I was young.

3. What is your all time favourite guilty food pleasure? Oh, I have too many. Here’s one: Eggs Benedict w/tabasco (see pic above). Here’s another: gooey homemade macaroni & cheese w/stewed tomatoes. And another: moist chocolate cake w/caramel frosting. Shall I go on?

4. How do you spend your weekends? Impossible to answer this, cuz every weekend is different. I will tell you this: since I’m self-employed, my work time & free time are very integrated. My “days off” are not always on a Saturday or Sunday. Sometimes, I take days off when it’s sunny, while taking workdays on rainy days. Or take the afternoon off, but work into the night. “Weekends” are flexible time, no matter what the day of the week.

5. Do you have a favourite teddy (or other item) from your childhood? Long ago, I was very fond of a plush toy monkey.

6. Do you have any weird habits? Yes, I do.

7. What event are looking forward to seeing at the Olympics? Um, I don’t watch the Olympics.

8. What is your favourite film and why? Oh, these “favourite” questions are so difficult. I love too many things. Let’s see. I really like movies that make me gasp or cry or laugh. The Sixth Sense. Gasp! Sense & Sensibility (the Emma Thompson/Kate Winslet one). Boo hoo hoo! The Incredibles. HA HA!

9. What is your favourite book and why? Girl with the Pearl Earring. Memoirs of a Geisha. Cold Mountain. The Time Traveler’s Wife. These books were so incredibly good, the movie versions pale by comparison. I like books about women who turn vulnerability into beautiful strength thru their experiences.

10. If you could buy yourself one luxury item (money no object) what would it be? A personal assistant. A very sexy male one, of course (since money is no object, I’ll presume morality is also moot, tee hee). With an assistant, I’d be able to achieve so much more each day. I always have too much on my plate, too many dreams.

11. What was your most embarrassing/silly moment? Embarrassing, you say? Hm, well… I sucked my thumb in my sleep til I was in 6th grade. Does that count?

It’s just past midnight & I must still think of 11 questions for others to answer & tag them to the task? I will have to do that another time, as I’m exhausted after all that self-analysis ;-) More another day. Goodnight!

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “February: New Month, Progressive Plans”

  1. runorgocrazy Says:

    Brilliant! Love the questions and the answers! Although weird habits….were you supposed to mention them?

  2. abradypus Says:

    I like the sound of the personal assistant. I’m of to add that to my “when I win the lottery” wish-list.

  3. Shannon Says:

    “Long ago, I was very fond of a plush toy monkey.” Yes, weren’t we all?

Leave a Reply

