Janathon Day 31: Purpose, People & Power

My big smile! 68 mi. in a month by running every day, my last 2 mi. run having been this afternoon, just before a strength training class. Post fitness, I sat in the steam room, whiffing eucalyptus as I leaned back on the warm tiles, eyes closed, grinning like a cat who ate canary. It is done.

My friends & neighbors sometimes ask me why I do these personal challenges. Few of them seem to really understand. They don’t set personal goals on a lark, just for the fun of it. They don’t necessarily challenge their daily schedules, their physical abilities or mental stamina. Except Jaime & Mary, they do it… but most people I know don’t. Maybe they are not curious?

I take on challenges because I want to make sure I can still make commitments to stretch myself & fulfill them. I need to know I can do that. I need to know a plan can be made anytime. I need to know I can find others who understand that, & do it too. I need to know I can change whenever I want. In one month, Janathon (or Juneathon) gives me all of that. Purpose, people & power. What more could a girl want?

That said, I hope to carry the spirit of Janathon into February… not with regard to running (tho I will still run & take fitness seriously), but with regard to other commitments I have made but are stalled. My art (as in “what art lately?”). My friends (I have unfinished projects needing completion). My work (oh, talk about stalled!). My relationships (I owe some people more attention & love). And Tegan, I didn’t forget about your tag, you little devil ;-)

If you’re reading this now, thanks for your support! Another thing I have planned for February is to bookmark a few Janathon/Juneathon folks for year-round following, not just during the challenge months. There were an awful lot of fun blogs to read & I’m still enjoying them. Tho I may cut back on running & blogging for myself, reading about others’ efforts & good humor will continue to keep me going…

And finally, let’s not forget deep, long, glorious sleep. Good night, all!

Tags: , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Janathon Day 31: Purpose, People & Power”

  1. runtezza Says:

    Well done HM –excellent effort and blog. Have a great post-Janathon!

  2. Terry 'ReNcE' Merry Says:

    It has been a pleasure to read and follow you over the last month, you need to keep up with the fitness, or the unitard will have been for nothing. Good luck with your art, I’d like to see some of that in your blog in the future to

  3. Lesley Boniface Says:

    Well done Heidi – great effort – enjoy the rest. Keep on running !

  4. Tegan Says:

    Whoop whoop!! You are the Janathon queen. Feels good to be at the finish line. Sorry for just sneaking past you at the end but as soon as you said the other day that you had over taken me my competitive side went into overdrive! Best of luck for any goals you set yourself for the rest of the year I have no doubt you will achieve everything you set your mind to. Xxx

  5. hjjc Says:

    Congrats on completing your goal :-)

  6. abradypus Says:

    Congratulations! Good luck with all your February challenges.

  7. jo(e) Says:

    Hey, I just wrote a post about how I’m giving myself gold stars for meeting my goals. As usual, you and I are in sync.

    Congrats on 68 miles! I love how you keep challenging yourself.

  8. jensruns2011 Says:

    Congratulations on a great Janathon and blog – really enjoyed reading it :-)

Leave a Reply

