Janathon Day 30: Yes, My Tree is Still Up

…but who cares, I am one day away from finishing Janathon! Barring any extreme circumstances, I will easily run tomorrow, thus completing 31 days of daily running. I can’t wait. I need Janathon to be over, so I can move “must run today, when?” to the middle of my brain & move other thoughts to the forefront. Thoughts like “for God’s sake, take down the Christmas tree before Valentine’s Day.” Or “put away laundry instead of just wearing it from the dryer, to the washer, to the dryer again.” And don’t forget “how’s about we do a little work today?” HA! My head has been on nothing but fitness for 30 days now. Game almost over.

Went to gym today @ 5pm. Bad move, as it was crowded, but I couldn’t help it. That was the soonest I could get there. Luckily, I got the last open treadmill & got a 2.5 mi. run out of the way. Afterward, I stretched on the mats & put on the unitard for a dip in the pool. I did a little paddling around, but mostly, I sat in front of the jets (2nd time, it’s becoming a trend). The heated, pounding water feels so good on my back… or on the soles of my feet, for an arch massage. Next, into the steamroom for 10 min., finally showered & went home. How I love my gym! It really is like having a luxury apartment. Except there’s no fridge. But the lounge furniture is certainly more comfy than ours at home, so there’s that :-)

I’m at 66 mi. for the month. That’s only 10.5 mi. short of my Juneathon total. There’s no way I’m running 10.5 mi. tomorrow. Had I known I’d be so close, would I have pushed harder in the first half of the month? Maybe… but I’m still quite happy with my performance. If I can do between 2 & 3 mi. every day for a month, I know I can easily train 3x a week for my first half marathon. Only thing left to do is pick one & start a scheduled plan!

4 Responses to “Janathon Day 30: Yes, My Tree is Still Up”

  1. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    The proper day to take down the tree according to Wicca and other pagan religions is IMBOLC, or ground hog’s day, Feb 2. This is midwinter and the the tree is no longer needed to light the cave of winter,

    Congrats on all yr running. :-D

  2. Lesley Boniface Says:

    So glad I didn’t put my tree up – it was one less thing to worry about! My daughter has been moaning about the washing situation – first job tomorrow will be clear the washbin! Well done on your mileage – and good luck with the half marathon training.

  3. Archh Says:

    Great stuff. Well done.

  4. abradypus Says:

    Nothing wrong with wearing things straight from the dryer ;)

Leave a Reply

