Janathon Day 25: Will Run for Squirrel Nut Goodies

Things have been a bit squirrelly around here lately. My poor husband is having a time of it, doing his best to help care for his aging parents (Dad in his 80s, Mother will be 91 in April). They mostly do well for themselves — but when a new variable arises (ie. a surgery or an unexpected downturn in either parent’s health), things get a little dicey. I’m only background support for my husband, as they’re his parents so he’s on the front line, but I feel mentally tired too. He stayed at his parents’ home for 4 days this week & after being home with me for a few days, he’ll be leaving again soon for another 4-day stint. His only brother is on rotation, too. It’s so hard seeing older folks on a knife’s edge like that, striving to stay in their homes, but teetering on the need for comprehensive care. Hopefully, things will stabilize shortly.

Meanwhile, I ran 2 mi. at the gym. Ho-hum. Two miles, two miles, two miles — I may not be ambitious, but gosh, you can’t say I’m not consistent. Love that rhythmic breathing, so good for relieving stress :-)

Today’s photo display features Squirrel Nut Cookies & Squirrel Nut Zippers, both tasty treats. I made the squirrel cookies at Christmas, only because I found a “squirrel” in my box of cutters. I have no idea how I got it, or why… but it had to be a gift, because I wouldn’t buy a squirrel cutter. Anyway, I used it, just for fun. The cookies were decorated with chopped nuts, of course. What else would you cover squirrels in? The Squirrel Nut Zippers caught my eye at a candy store, because I once bought a CD by a band of that name. The band is good & the candy is really sticky. Almost tore the fillings right out of my teeth, but worth the risk, mmm.

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Janathon Day 25: Will Run for Squirrel Nut Goodies”

  1. abradypus Says:

    Mmmm. They look tasty [reaches across Internet to grab one].

  2. Lesley Boniface Says:

    Hope things improve with your in laws – it’s not nice when they’re suffering. The squirrel cookies look great – oh and well done on your 2 miles at least you’ve done them, which is more than I have on the running front!

  3. ReNcE Says:

    As you said about my Blog- “I love finding people in Jan/Juneathons that are about my age, speed & level of enthusaism” – Also seems we are in a similar family situation, my inlaws are in in their mid 80’s, dad has dementia, hasn’t eaten since xmas, is being made to drink a litre of water a day, and mum has diabeties and too old and frail to cope with Dad, so my wife and her sisters (fortunately there are 7 of them all in) are taking it in turns to stay, though for us its a 180mile journey to get there. As you say, its not pleasant, but we do what we can to ensure they can be there for them.
    Aleast #janathon keeps our minds occupied

  4. mary taitt Says:

    YAY for consistency! WooHoo! Cute squirrel nut cookies (and cutter!)

  5. jensruns2011 Says:

    Sorry to hear of the tough times your in-laws are having at the moment – sounds like they’re very lucky to have you guys though. Great looking squirrel cookies, could so eat one of them right now! :-)

Leave a Reply

