Janathon Day 21: Great Day, Not in a Fit Way

Start reading excuses here: today I had my worst fitness day of Janathon yet. I was still tired when I got up at 7:30am. It was cold inside the house (woodstove had gone out overnight) & snowing outside. I had to be showered & dressed (nicely), ready to leave for Boston at 10am. I didn’t have enough time to drive to the gym, run & return. Running outside in the snow was not going to happen. So… my only choice was to run on the treadmill we have in the office/barn. It’s old & poorly maintained (bought new over 20 years ago). It sometimes makes a “burnt” smell (engine seized?) when it’s on… or the belt slips as I run (scary & unstable). Today, it was the latter. When the belt slips, a run is herky-jerky. But it was my only real option, so I held onto the handrails & pushed through it for 3/4 mi. That was all I could muster. I walked 1/4 mi., feeling irritated, then quit. That was it.

That was the bad news. The good news is that I had an awesome day in Boston with our friends. The Shen Yun dance troupe was fabulous! The pics shown are the inner lobby of the Boston Opera House (photos were not allowed inside during the performance) & my serving of Fish Maw Soup w/Black Mushrooms, accompanied by a slice of scallion pancake. Tomorrow, I will have to exercise all the more because I sampled a lot of good food at the East Ocean City in Chinatown.

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Janathon Day 21: Great Day, Not in a Fit Way”

  1. Travelling Hopefully Says:

    What a day! I was intrigued enough to consult google to find out what part of a fish is its maw. I kind of wish I hadn’t, but suspect that you would fox everyone at #guessthesoup on twitter. Good luck with the offsetting!

  2. abradypus Says:

    Running 0.75m on that treadmill sounds hardcore to me!

  3. hjjc Says:

    Hey, you can do a food blog too! I like the picture of your soup : ) Maybe it is a good thing you had an easier day, your body must have needed the break. Today is onward and upward!!

  4. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    AT least you did exercise! And you HAD FUN! Everyone deserves an occasional partial break. ANd FUN is good. :-D

  5. Lesley Boniface Says:

    Well done on getting to a mile – think I’d have just done the 1/4 mile walk if it was that bad, but on the other hand I wouldn’t have run in the snow either! Sounds like you had a great Chinese New Year celebration.

  6. Jaime Says:

    Soup and scallion pancake look delicious! And the opera house looks beautiful. And then you ran with me today. What a great weekend you had!

Leave a Reply

