Janathon Day 13: Salad Cream Crackered

I was poking around the ethnic/imported foods aisle in the supermarket today (looking unsuccessfully for hominy to make posole) & oh goodness, Jo & Mark, look what I found: salad cream, of all things! I’d hoped to next see Jaffa cakes, but no such luck. All I need is “fish fingers” & a bun of some sort, yes? I didn’t buy the salad cream yet, as it was an awfully big bottle. What if it’s nasty? Will you two come over here & eat it, if I cook up all the “fish fingers” you can stomach? Let’s invite RunThomasRun too, as I understand he’s fond of eating himself sick on odd bits :-)

Culinary enlightenment aside, I had a good fitness day. I stopped by the gym to run a minimum 2 mi. on a treadmill, after swearing to my husband I would not stay long, as it was already late-afternoon & I needed to food shop before coming home to make dinner. But oh, I could not resist those wicked bikes again! This time I rode a 4.5 mi. route called Fruitdale, which is along a beach dotted with date palms & banana trees — in full fruit, of course, which was making me quite hungry near the end of my ride, as yes, it was getting close to dinnertime & I had not gone to shop yet! Oh woe, my husband was slightly grumpy when I got home late. I have promised a very nice dinner on Saturday night, so I am absolutely going to the gym in the morning, not late-afternoon this time!

I just set the alarm for 7am. I hope I will abide by it! Lesley & TravellingHopefully, among others, have mentioned sleeping very well since Janathon started. I have been also. Too much exercise, combined with late night blogging & reading makes me quite dead by morning. I should get to bed now, to have any chance of an early rise tomorrow… so goodnight :-)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Janathon Day 13: Salad Cream Crackered”

  1. jogblog Says:

    I was in Paris just before Christmas and a shop there had an ‘English’ shelf with Heinz Baked Beans and stuff. It was very funny being a ‘minority’ for a change!

  2. Lesley Boniface Says:

    Oh wow that’s a massive bottle! Thanks for the mention and yes sleep was wonderful again last night – not sure whether it’s because we didn’t get to bed till late thanks to our teenage daughter or the exercise but we didn’t wake up until 8.45 – that’s disgusting isn’t it?

  3. abradypus Says:

    But do they sell marmite?

  4. mary taitt Says:

    GOod job on your running. And what the heck is salad cream?

  5. shazruns Says:

    Salad cream is way better than Miracle whip. Lucky you to be able to get in when I lived in Canada you could not get it anywhere. How about Ribena this is lovely hot after a run

  6. runtezza Says:

    Fish fingers AND salad cream…. bliss.

  7. travellinghopefully Says:

    Salad cream is the work of the devil.

  8. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    what is it?

Leave a Reply

