Janathon Day 10: Squishy in the Middle

Run report, coming up! Have a giant marshmallow while you read.

Today, I worked a few hours in the office, then got pinched for time in the afternoon — when I’d planned to run, of course. Finally grabbed my bag & hurried to the gym, hoping to get a minimum 2 mi. run under my belt before a 4:30pm “Sets & Reps” class (muscle-building w/handweights).

Even tho I was pushing (10:00 pace, a good clip for me), I had to bail off the treadmill at 1.5 mi. for the class. The change-up was nice (this week focused on arms, back & shoulders). I was in a good mood afterward, so I decided to run another mile for fun. Total: 2.5 mi., with a short ab workout & stretching session to close.

I hit the shower & discovered a few minutes in the sauna is a great way to completely dry off & get warm before dressing, mmm! At home, I get to stand & shiver when I step out of the shower. I also have to wash my own towels. I am getting spoiled in the women’s locker room at the gym. If this keeps up, I’ll want my own apartment next. Ken is not going to be happy at all!

OK, now the marshmallows. I’ve been craving s’mores ever since I had some toasted marshmallows at that New Year’s Eve bonfire party. Since we have a fireplace, we can make them indoors all winter. This summer, I bought some giant marshmallows. They make really gooey s’mores. They’re so big & smooshy, you can’t see the chocolate… but trust me, it’s in there!

So yeah, I was thinking about s’mores while looking at the “fake coals” heat source in the sauna (natural gas flame over lava rocks). There was no one in there but me. I looked closer. I’m pretty sure I could toast a marshmallow over that sucker. Can I get evicted for toasting marshmallows in the sauna, I wonder? Results to be announced in the next week or so, I’m afraid ;-)

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Janathon Day 10: Squishy in the Middle”

  1. Tegan Says:

    Oh my god I miss smores! I used to have them all the time as a kid when I lived out in Saudi. Don’t think I could get away with eating them anymore though!

    Excellent Janathon effort and I’m especially blown away by your dedication of working out before a class and then again after! You’re a machine! We have a sauna at our gym too but it’s too hot for me, I much prefer the steam room, although it can be hard to find your way out and the potential for toasting marshmellows is pretty much nil.

  2. abradypus Says:

    S’more? No, don’t tell me. I’ll only want one :)

  3. Lesley Boniface Says:

    Isn’t it great when you just run for the fun of it – didn’t think I’d ever do it but it’s great. I was hoping you’d explain what these s’more things are but I think I’m glad you didn’t they sound way to yum !

  4. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife Says:

    your “sexual diversions” page cracked me up! i had to check it out before commenting, in case you were not what your ‘about’ page portrayed, haha. thanks for the laugh :D

  5. travellinghopefully Says:

    I have never encountered a s’more but can confess to a childhood love of marshmallow microwaved on top of a plain chocolate digestive. Slight health and safety issues with the risk of burning the roof of your mouth off, but that’s a risk worth taking.

Leave a Reply

