Janathon Day 8: Gelatinous Blobs in Motion

3.6 mi. for today, my longest run of the year so far. Went out w/Jaime & did the same route as January 1, but went further before turning back this time. Nice day (34 °F), tho not as sunny as the forecast predicted. It was cloudy, in fact. And a bit windy. Stupid weathermen! I find it so surprising that with all the technological advances in the world, we still cannot call the weather accurately in advance?

Having been consistent with a daily 2 mi. or so, perhaps this week I’ll try for 3 mi. most days. My legs are fine & now that the pills are deadening my heel pain, I’m OK there too… but oh Lordy, my Christmas belly! Very disappointing. I need to lose some weight. Here’s one thing that’s new to me at the gym: friggin’ mirrors everywhere! I know they are there for weight-lifters to check their proper form & such, but geez, gimme a break! I start Aquatics fitness next week. Please, don’t have mirrors in the pool area…

Prior to the gym, I had never actually seen myself running. All I knew was how I felt when running. Strong, youthful, tight & powerful — happily alive! You can imagine my horror the first time I ran on a treadmill at the gym… & saw my reflection in the dark windows before me :-( I saw an overweight, red-faced, middle-aged woman bouncing along in place. As my friend Rich would say, “Good feelings, GONE.”

My next thought was: “Yikes, that jelly belly has got to GO!” I’m still shaping a plan to lose about 20 lbs. by May 1. New Year’s Resolution #1. And I ordered 2 swimsuits today, so I can learn to swim before summer. New Year’s Resolution #2. Pool workouts start mid-month, to get me accustomed to actually being in water up to my chest. Eeek.

In honor of gelatinous blobs in motion, today’s pics are of jellyfish. The 2 real ones, shown above, had washed up on the Florida beach I ran last spring. Even dead, they’re still fascinating. The others are jellyfish sketchbook art I made over the summer & fall, using paints, colored pencils, glue, ribbons & yarn. Jellyfish are powerful but pretty, jiggly yet graceful… maybe because they swim & don’t run!

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Janathon Day 8: Gelatinous Blobs in Motion”

  1. hjjc Says:

    Check out P.I.N.K. Method. Twenty pounds=Gone But only if you are really committed to it!

  2. runtezza Says:

    Steady on HM, if we could predict the weather what would we talk about? I have to say I prefer jelly fish in art rather than nature (ouch!). Good luck in learning to swim — what a great adventure.

  3. abradypus Says:

    So far I’ve managed to avoid seeing myself running. I think I’ll try to keep it that way :)

  4. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    LOL! What a riot. Reality can be such a comedown–wait until yr 65! (I try never to look in the mirror or at photos of myself because my internal image of myself is SOOOOOO much nicer than what I see.

    Congrats on your longest run of the year.

    I have happy memories of you and those jellies. :-D XOX <3

Leave a Reply

