Janathon Day 5: Improving My Twisted Wiggliness

Today went well. Light workday. Light meals. Ken had an evening meeting, thus dinner plans were moot… so I took off for some yoga & running at the gym.

I’m not new to yoga. I’m very fond of my former instructor, whose class I attended once a week for 3 years. She helped me do my first headstand! I was very sorry to drop her class this year. I can’t justify the cost of outside classes, now that I’m paying a gym membership which includes classes in its monthly fee. I wanted the gym for its comprehensive fitness options, especially since there’s a pool & I want to learn how to swim… but I hated giving anything up for it. Why are life’s choices so complicated?

I almost hate to admit it: my new instructor is great. She puts us thru a diverse range of poses (most I know, but some were new to me) as she explains correct positoning, so we can check ourselves in-posture. I don’t have to look up, I can just listen for cues. The only thing I don’t like is her time slot. 6:30 to 7:45pm, Thursday nights. I will sometimes miss class for dinner with friends or events at the library, as we often have social plans that evening.

I arrived early enough for a 2 mi. run on the treadmill, a 1/2 mi. cooldown walk, 10 min. of foot & leg stretches, a few half-hearted tricep moves & a plank. Then I showered & changed into a clean shirt & stretch pants, so I could go straight home after the class. This yoga is active (Iyengar), so yeah, I sweat a little… but not like a run. I stay reasonably fresh. Fresh enough to get right into my PJs, all cozy for some laptop blogging by the woodstove before bed :-)

Tomorrow will be difficult. I will have a day with few exercise options, as I have an out-of-state funeral & its social aftermath. Attending it will eat up most of my daylight, when you include 2.5 hrs. travel time, fore & aft. That leaves only a short window at daybreak to guarantee me a run. I won’t relish that time slot, as I am not a morning person, let alone a morning runner! I won’t have time to ride to the gym which will mean running straight from the house into biting cold & maybe some snow. Oh, I take back how much I complained about summer rain during Juneathon!

Enough of my griping. Today’s photos are of Eastern Milk Snakes. The one in my palm is a baby, only about the length & diameter of a pencil. He was ailing, which is how I could hold him openly like this & not by his head. If he were well, he wouldn’t have stood for this loose a grip — either wriggling off, biting me, or both! The snake “sandal” is an adult. It was dead in our driveway, but uncrushed & still pliable (hawk dropped?). I couldn’t resist toying with it.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Janathon Day 5: Improving My Twisted Wiggliness”

  1. abradypus Says:

    Should I worry that your first instinct on spotting a dead snake is to make a snake sandal complete with photographs? Fingers crossed your morning run goes / went well.

  2. Lesley Boniface Says:

    I’m glad you added the fact that the adult snake was dead – I kinda freaked when I opened your blog (not a snake lover!).

    Hope your day goes ok – funerals are never easy!

  3. mary taitt Says:

    I love the milk snakes! You are so creative!!!

    Congratulations on your good day of eating and running. I had a better day yesterday.

  4. michelle Says:

    I really did not know what I was looking at and thought that looks like a dead snake, lo and behold it was, kinda weird but interesting all the same

Leave a Reply

