New Year Burning Bright

I love New Year’s Day. I remember describing why in more depth last year, so I won’t repeat that. I’ll just say that I do glance back, but I like thinking ahead. I always make resolutions. On January 1, it’s not about success or failure yet. Right now, it’s all about hope, inspiration & the joy of a blank page.

These pics are from last night, when we attended a bonfire party just a few miles from home. OK, it was actually a brush-burning. But in our part of NH, burning one’s brush, stumps & assorted treedown is a great reason to have people over for eating hot chili, swilling cold beer & toasting marshmallows. It’s also a great opportunity to gaze into the massive pile of flames & mentally review 2011, while affirming plans for 2012. Falling ash amid rising sparks, a beautifully natural cycle.

The New Year marks Day 1 of Janathon. I was pleased with my novice effort at Junethon, so I’m all in for Janathon. I’m starting with the same attitude. No goals, I’m just playing to see what happens. What happened in June was wonderful. Great fitness, great people, great fun, great achievement. How can I possibly lose?

Today’s Janathon fitness report: ran 3 mi. with Jaime on one of my favorite scenic routes, the Contoocook River Rail Trail. We didn’t time for speed, we just enjoyed ourselves. It was a gorgeous sunny day, a warm(ish) 40°F & surprisingly, there’s no snow yet. Once the snow piles up, this trail will be off limits until spring unless I’m wearing snowshoes or cross-country skis. Good thing I have both :-)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “New Year Burning Bright”

  1. travellinghopefully Says:

    I love all those reasons for having a bonfire – emotional baggage clearing and marshmallows? What more could you ask for? Happy New Year!

  2. abradypus Says:

    Three enjoyable miles is a great way to kick off Janathon, and staring into the flames sounds wonderful too.

  3. Lesley Says:

    Sounds great – way better than my excuse for a New Year’s Eve – and the photos from your trail run look fantastic – somewhere to put on my “to visit” list!

  4. shazruns Says:

    Mmmmmm. Marshmallows fat free too.

  5. jo(e) Says:

    Whoa. That’s quite the bonfire!

    I hope 2012 is good to you.

Leave a Reply

