When Holidays Run Together

The next 6 weeks will be a blur of holidays. And food. And fitness, to counteract food. I ran a 5K Turkey Trot today. See pre-race turkey cuddling, above. Do I look cold? Yeah, I’m cold. Bet the guy in the turkey suit wasn’t cold.

I had just finished the race when I joined my Dad, who was chatting with Santa. Whew, I’m not cold anymore. Santa got a sweaty hug. See his bib number? Yes, he ran too. In the earlier kids’ Fun Run, of course. One mile, in full Santa garb. Impressive!

The 5K was 500+ runners w/no pace brackets, so the start was a cattle run. Lost minutes never regained, as the tight crowd was still dispersing at the quarter-mile mark. Mixed terrain (gravel, grass, pavement, dirt) so I had to concentrate on footing in some areas. Gorgeous day, tho. Felt good. Not sure of my actual finish time, cuz we didn’t hang around for race results (still not posted online). Oh well. I came, I ran, I went home to overeat. End of story. Happy Thanksgiving!

Postscript: Finally found results online today (11/30/11). Of 497 runners, I placed 335th w/a time of 32:06. That’s the slowest 5K race I’ve ever recorded! Bah, pass the gravy :-)

Tags: , , , , ,

10 Responses to “When Holidays Run Together”

  1. mary taitt Says:

    Congrats on running off a few calories–on running at all infact! CUTE!!!

  2. abradypus Says:

    Did you feel smug and virtuous for the rest of the day?

  3. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    Haha funny.

    K says, “Who is that turkey yr hanging with?” He also says, slightly more rudely, “That’s not a turkey intromittant organ in your hand, is it?”

    • henniemavis Says:

      HA! Tell K I had to Google “intromittant organ” because I needed to be sure. The short answer: I’m holding my gloves, with which any proper lady would slap you for that comment, you rogue ;-)

  4. mike Says:

    I hope you, too, gained weight on Thanksgiving despite putting on the fitness front :-)

    D’town turkey trot was nothing special…I’ll join you at Tel Hai next time.

    • henniemavis Says:

      “Too?” Hmm. Should I be dreading the next time you post swimsuit photos? And please do join me at Tel Hai next year. You can do the 5K. I’m doing the Fun Run w/Santa!

  5. Pearl Says:

    oh, that’s a turkey. at first glance wondered what you’d been feeding those chickens. ;)

    your slowest runtime is still way past my capacity.

    • henniemavis Says:

      Maybe so, but I am thinking of entering a poetry contest (Dec. 15th submission deadline)… & getting my entry finalized might be way past my capacity, HA! Wanna submit in my stead?

  6. shazruns Says:

    Hey just seen you have entered Janathon. Good luck with that. I am not doing it this year due to heavy wok schedule but will be watching so happ running and blogging!!!

Leave a Reply

