Juneathon 28: Peg Legged Pirate Run

Sweet Jesus, only 2 more days of daily running. I am so ready to be done! I could barely drag myself out today, but I did: 2 mi. @ 23:14. Time was skewed cuz I slowed to chat my neighbors, who were walking their dog. Their dog is really cute & needed some patting, which slowed me even more…

Here’s the odd thing about today’s run. I had been down for a nap just before, waking around 7:15pm. As I woke, I thought “Oh no, it’s going to be getting dark soon & I still need to run…” so I quickly got dressed & stumbled out the door. Apparently I hadn’t been upright for long enough, cuz when I started running, I was stiff-legged. Really stiff. It was weird, like none of the muscles or tendons in my legs were pliable? For the first 1/4 mi., my gait felt like I was running on 2 peg legs! Finally, I loosened up & felt I could move normally.

So, in honor of my “pirate” run, here are some fun pirate pics. Back in May, I was visiting my friend Susan. She lives in Florida. We went to the Shrimp Festival on Fernandina Beach. Arts & crafts, live music & every form of shrimp cuisine you can imagine. The weather was awesome — they don’t call it the “Sunshine State” for nothing! The whole festival is pirate themed. Shrimp, art, pirates: what’s not to love? We had such a great time. I even got some parrot kisses from this beautiful, friendly bird!

Yes, I ran the beach while there. It was flat, easygoing, a great view. I could have run forever on the packed sand along the water. It was the only time I have ever been eager to do morning runs. The cool breeze with the sun coming up over the water = absolute heaven! I miss it almost as much as I miss Susan.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Juneathon 28: Peg Legged Pirate Run”

  1. Jo365 Says:

    Love the pics, well done on your run! Not long now…

  2. runtezza Says:

    Shiver me timbers — well done on getting those pegs going for the antepenultimate time.

  3. abradypus Says:

    Oo arr me hearties. Nearly there.

  4. archiehartwright Says:

    I’m glad it’s not just me that needs a kip sometimes before a run me hearty, but are you saying you have had enough of us?

    • henniemavis Says:

      Kip! New word for my Brit vocab! I was puzzled at first, when looking this up. First results: “the untanned hide of a small or young animal, such as a calf.” I reGoogled “Brit definition” & then got “a catnap, to snooze lightly.” HA! I have most certainly not had enough of you all… but my body needs a kip alright :-)

Leave a Reply

