Juneathon Day 22: High Tea, Low Motivation

I could have mustered a run in heavy mist, a light drizzle, even a moderate shower… but, no, it simply poured all afternoon & evening. It’s still pouring buckets now. I was trying to wait it out, but it wouldn’t quit… so I did something I haven’t done in over a year: I ran on the treadmill.

It was 9pm when I bit the bullet & hopped on the darn thing. I hated to do it, but I had to get in at least one lousy Juneathon mile! God, an awful mile it was, too. Took me over 12 min. because basically, I’m scared of treadmills. I’m not used to running on them, thus leery to run in earnest. I’m afraid I will lose my footing on the narrow belt if I’m going too fast, or that the electricity will cut out suddenly, sending me ass-over-tea-kettle. I’d rather trip outdoors & skitter on a road than fall on a treadmill. So I was cautious, but I got the job done.

In better news, I was invited to my friend Jean’s house this afternoon. She & I have a special bond since discovering we graduated from the same small college — more than 40 years apart (she was Class of 1945)! In her mid-80s by now, I’ve known her since 1999. Turns out, we have more than just a college in common. Besides being a wonderful person, she puts on a fine tea, as shown above. There were 5 women to tea in all. We had fun chatting & snacking as we traded town news & rumors, trying to sort one from the other. It was a nice day on Jean’s screen porch, no matter the foul weather :-)

Note: I always forget to declare other non-running exercise as cross-training. Early this morning, I did a 3 mi. speedwalk with a friend before work, as well as an hour yoga class. My husband reminded me that even on days when I feel I’ve been a slouch runner, I am better than that.

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Juneathon Day 22: High Tea, Low Motivation”

  1. shazruns Says:

    Looks lovely, but no cucumber sandwiches?

  2. abradypus Says:

    A mile on a treadmill always feels like five outside. Hopefully the rain will let up and let you out tomorrow.

  3. runtezza Says:

    Very civilised spread there! I quite like treadmills myself, but know what you mean about the fear-of-sudden-stop syndrome!

  4. mary taitt Says:

    The tea sounds like MUCH more fun than the run!!!

    Our rain has stopped and I’m thinking of a run now. Hope it holds off.

  5. swimcyclerun Says:

    I’m scared of treadmills to. When I went to the running shop to have my gait checked for a pair of running shoes I almost flew off the damn thing, amusing my wife and scaring the shop assistant!

    I wouldn’t advise drinking a cup of tea on the treadmill, it would all be in the saucer!

Leave a Reply

