Juneathon Day 20: Always Running Out of Time

Another short run today, but a run nonetheless: 2.2 mi. @ approx. 11:30 pace. It was 80 degrees & sunny. I had made plans to meet up with Jaime & it’s a good thing, as she kept me on track for a run. Certainly a nice day for it, but after work, I really wanted to get at the garden & Firewoodathon as soon as possible.

When I got home, I did some rushed gardening — cut garlic scapes & picked the sugar snap peas (shown above), then hilled the potatoes. Yum! the garden is finally starting to yield a few things besides just lettuce, kale & scallions. I love our veggie garden when it’s in full swing, but that won’t be for another month yet.

After gardening, I attacked the wood pile again. Worked until almost 10pm (hooray for my headlamp), to get every last log moved near the woodshed. Tomorrow morning, I will finishing stacking it before my husband arrives home midday. Won’t he be surprised when he sees I’ve managed all 3 cords by myself! Ouch, my arms are feeling it, tho. I did a lot of “log flinging” to spare the time & burden of carrying it. Only had 2 wild pitches: one clocked my knee (ow) & the other clanged against the gas grill (oops). Both were OK after the shock of impact :-)

Last on the agenda tonite: a hot bubblebath before bed, to purge myself of barkchips & dirt. I think I’ll have a root beer float while I’m soaking. Tomorrow, I need to photograph some sketchbook art I did, so I can mail off the book itself but still have the images to post. I have been behind on my sketching, so it’s a relief to have found some time for that this weekend also. Now if only I’d practiced my piano lesson more!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Juneathon Day 20: Always Running Out of Time”

  1. shazruns Says:

    Root beer dont know ho you can drink the stuff I can’t get past the smell of it! What an exhausting day, nice to achieve such a lot though

  2. abradypus Says:

    If you ever find yourself in the uk, I think you would like the lost gardens of heligan. Their kitchen garden is really something very special.

    • henniemavis Says:

      Ooo, I’ll Google it for a preview! But if I’m ever in the UK, I want to do a running event with other Juneathoners… and then have tea & cakes, of course.

  3. Ken Says:

    Yeah! Go Wife! I’ll be home tonight to give you a shoulder massage. A fit wife is a happy husband. Thanks for the help.

    • henniemavis Says:

      Aw! my surprise is ruined! You said you never read my blog! (even my husband’s a stalker?) Bet Dad saw this & tipped you off…

      Drive home safely. My sore shoulders await!

  4. fortnightflo Says:

    Mm those peas look delicious- I wish I had the time to set up nad maintain a veggie garden, i am envious but full of admiration!

    • henniemavis Says:

      The peas were delicious, sauteed w/minced garlic scrapes, butter & thyme. I don’t necessarily love maintaining the garden… but oh, I love picking & eating fresh. That’s the draw… [hanging my head] I love good food :-)

  5. Jaime Says:

    What??! No mention of my paella?? If I didnt give you that for your dinner you would not have had time to stack all that firewood! I want my credit due! Anyway you didnt need strength training this week!

  6. mike Says:

    Your firewoodathon is great, even better that your hubby was stalking. Love that.
    August is now shaping up to be pianothon. Get your fingers ready.

Leave a Reply

