Juneathon Day 19: Creeping Right Along

Still slow going, but going: 1.4 mi. run today. No sportwatch timing, no music, no motivation. I meant to repeat the same lame 1 mi. run as yesterday, but I have to admit, once I got moving this time, I was tempted to go further. Not anticipating that change of heart, I hadn’t bothered with changing into a sports bra earlier. Going for much more than a mile in a regular bra = bad idea. With my headcold & the weekend now behind me, I will try to get serious again tomorrow.

Despite a gorgeous day (70 degrees & sunny), I was not up for running because I’ve been working outside all day. I’m exhausted. Did some mowing with the pushmower, some gardening (squats, basically), then was moving & stacking firewood most of the afternoon. We had 3 cords dumped in our driveway late April & I’m getting sick of looking at it. I have to move it by hand, as the tire on the wheelbarrow is flat & my husband will kill me if I use the Kubota with no one home, in case it rolls (using the bucketloader makes it kinda tippy). I hope to post pics of Firewoodathon by midweek. If weather cooperates, I should have all 3 cords in the woodshed & debris raked before my husband returns from his trip. It’s a welcome-home surprise for him. (No, he doesn’t read my blog very often, so I’m gambling he won’t check it while he’s away.)

I found this snail under some wood. Its shell is about the size of a dime. The 1st photo is the snail at sprint pace. The 2nd pic is his recovery pace. Can you tell the difference? HA!

Tags: , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Juneathon Day 19: Creeping Right Along”

  1. shazruns Says:

    Ew ew ewwwwwwwwwwww, the butterfly pic was so much nicer

  2. Keith Jenkins Says:

    I feel a bit like your snail!
    Well I’m impressed and I’m tempted to redirect my wife to your post, all that gardening ;-)

  3. mary taitt Says:

    Cute snail pix. Keep slogging away. I didn’t do any running on my trip, but I did walk every day, including LONG walks.

    All that outdoor work must help somewhat?

  4. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    I don’t really know what Juneathon is or anything about it. I do know that daily blogging as VERY hard. (All I know about Junethon is that you’ve been posting everyday with that title. and about exercise.)

    • henniemavis Says:

      OMG, this made me smile. For almost the first week of daily June posts, I was putting a link to Juneathon in my text everyday. Then, I got tired of doing it, so I stopped, thinking by now, anyone reading was either a Juneathon participant already, or at least would know what it is. Here’s a link to my June 1 post, explaining it. To see more, click the word “Juneathon” in the body text of that post & it’ll take you to the official Juneathon site. Or Google Juneathon. Or go here: http://juneathon.com/

      With your daily walking, you are already doing it… minus the logging of miles & the daily blogging. Yes, daily blogging is very difficult… more tiring than the exercise!

  5. abradypus Says:

    I’m with shaz on this one… Eeeuuuwww with the snail on your arm thing.

    • henniemavis Says:

      Tee hee hee to both of you, then! I find nature things fascinating, even “icky” bugs & stuff. So interesting! even if my inner wrist gets a little slimy :-)

  6. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    I looked it up and it did sound interesting, except I’ve decided not to commit to daily blogging–for me, it is too much of a time sink.

    I like the snail on your arm MUCH better than the idea of daily blogging. And since I already walk a minimum of 45 minutes EVERY DAY, I am not sure of the value of logging it. (I did look it up before your comment).

  7. archiehartwright Says:

    You continue to take some nifty pictures – sometimes with only one arm – great stuff. Also you have picked up an interesting non-Juneathon fan! Well done.

    • henniemavis Says:

      HA! I assume you mean Mary? Gosh, I picked her up years ago… we’ve been real life friends for more than 20 years. She’s like a mother, sister & best friend, all rolled into one :-)

  8. meghan Ling Says:

    I think you have two different snails doing the same sprint pace and you’re trying to fool me…what in the heck is a Kubota?

    • henniemavis Says:

      The snail(s), HA!

      Oh Meg, a Kubota is what small farm & country landscaping dreams are made of! It’s a big red-orange tractor — bucket loader for the front, a mower deck for the back (field cutting, too big for lawns) & a blade-scraper for snow plowing or grading our dirt driveway. Plus it has a roll bar, making it husband-approved for wife-safety :-)

Leave a comment