Juneathon Day 18: Hardest Run Yet

Hardest Juneathon run yet & I don’t mean uphill or at a fast pace. I mean just getting my ass into my running shorts & out the door. My body — more importantly, my head — did not want to run today. It’s Saturday. Lovely weather. I didn’t have any plans, for once. A whole day unscheduled! I slept in until 11am (!!) as I desperately needed the rest from my cold, all this running, a hard work week & bad or little sleep the last few days. Mmm, it was such a good sleep!

Once up & about, I did chores at a leisurely pace (laundry, dishes, garden, animal care & the like). Did some sketchbook art too. Then at 4pm, I took a nap! I really did. So when I got up @ 5:30pm, the only thing left to do was run before dinner & a movie tonight? Maybe more art? Or some piano?

Run! I didn’t want to. But I did. One lousy mile. No watch, no music, just out & done. And I hated every step, too. The whole time, I was thinking “I want this over.” That was the first time my spirit didn’t switch to “hey, this isn’t so bad” or “ooo, maybe I’ll go a little longer.” Yuck.

On a nicer note, I held a beautiful butterfly on the tip of my pinky finger today (shown here). The blue on its wings was remarkable! It could not fly for some reason? At least not at the time I found it in the grass. I put it on a flower (food?) & wished it luck before getting back to hanging laundry.

Tags: , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Juneathon Day 18: Hardest Run Yet”

  1. abradypus Says:

    Well done for getting out despite your lack of desire.

  2. Jaime Says:

    Sounds ike you hit a wall. Btw what movie did you see?

    • henniemavis Says:

      Watched 2 free library DVDs: Vicky Cristina Barcelona (2008), then Room with a View (1985). Latter is an old fav of mine, viewed many times before. The former was a first & quite good throughout, but geez, the ending was flat.

  3. meghan Ling Says:

    You did it, you didn’t want to but you did. That says a lot!! That’s something to draw from when you tackle your half marathon(yes, I’m assuming it’s a GO). Speed isn’t significant, you can do it!!
    Your butterfly friend reminded me of a zillion blue and orange dragonflies that flew around our legs on our trail run today. They were mixing it up with the wildflowers and the purples, yellows, oranges and blues were sparkling against the green marshy grasses. Hmmmm, very much a summer moment.

    Read the Juneathon post, thanks!!

    • henniemavis Says:

      I love dragonflies, too. They prey on unwanted biting deerflies & horseflies buzzing around me as I run… ow, biting flies! Yeah, Day 11 was a major milestone for me, in many ways. My longest run ever & my best power of the mind over body :-) Enjoy your summer, you lucky teacher-with-summers-off!

  4. mike Says:

    Finally. Some sleep.
    If you’re reading this, go to bed.

    If you’re still reading this, today’s run might be your best Juneathon effort yet. It takes alot to keep going back out there. Day after day.

  5. mary taitt Says:

    What a pretty butterfly!!!!

    Hard runs are good! :-D

    I do walk every single day, or run or bike–all year long, not just in June. BUT I rarely blog about it. It’s my way of life and I am going out to walk RIGHT NOW>

  6. Dad Says:

    Do you think that butterfly may be a variation of what I’ve come, correctly or not, to know as a “Blue Admiral”? I’ve always thought they were the most beautiful of all the species that I typically see in our neck of the woods – Monarch, Yellow Swallowtail, et al..

  7. mary taitt Says:

    Looks like a blue admiral:
    http://tinyurl.com/5vkhxl3

    • Dad Says:

      I thought so too, Mary, but then butterflies are not my strong suit. I can say with ‘certitude’ that it is not a ruffed grouse or an American woodcock.

      Best regards to you.

Leave a Reply

