Juneathon Day 13: Whooo Watches My Progress

Short report today, as I am still recovering from my race weekend & a nasty headcold. I’m tired. Or to practice some new vocabulary, as learned by reading British Juneathon fitness blogs: “This headcold has me a bit knackered.” Did I use that correctly? Anyone?

I wasn’t too tired to skip a run, tho. Drove into town a half hour early, to run a 2.1 mi. loop around the village before my 1 hr. strength training class. Village runs are flat, thus less exertion for better breathing & less coughing right now. Can’t wait for my good health to return so I can do a longer run again! I did remember to take my music this time, but forgot my watch (no timing).

Today’s photo was actually taken today: surprise owl sighting! This barred owl swooped low in front of my car as I drove out my road. He perched nearby, in plain view. I stopped immediately, killed the engine, put down my car window & fumbled with my new camera phone… how to take his picture? He waited patiently while I figured it out. Not a great shot, but not too bad? I couldn’t find the “zoom” feature, so I just snapped it & cropped in close later (hence poor resolution). We stared at each other a while longer, before he flew off. Beautiful bird!

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Juneathon Day 13: Whooo Watches My Progress”

  1. marktownson Says:

    ‘Knackered’ is a great word and you used it correctly :-)

  2. abradypus Says:

    Fine use of the word knackered. We’ll have you fluent in Brit in no time!

  3. henniemavis Says:

    @mark @abradypus So now that I’ve got “knackered” down, maybe this weekend I’ll learn how to get “pissed?” Here, “getting pissed” means something makes you angry. But for you, it means I should have a few beers, right? Your definition sounds more fun :-)

  4. Ballookey Says:

    Ooh, I’m totally jealous! I’ve never seen an owl in the wild, and only one in the not-wild. Beautiful.

  5. shazruns Says:

    After being knackered and pissed I wonder what could be next. Beautiful Owl

  6. archiehartwright Says:

    Your photography has always been impressive – even those pics of chicks – and today’s owl is excellent; and for a New Englander your Old English is improving.

  7. Jaime Says:

    “Whooo” watches my progress is clever.

Leave a Reply

