Juneathon Day 6: My Left Toe

No Academy Award for me. Just a slight ingrown, with very bad timing. Not that there’s ever a good time for an ingrown.

I am less than a week away from my first ever 15K, and it’s a trail run no less, which makes it all the harder on the feet, ankles & toes. Black Fly In My Eye 10-miler is June 11. My longest run thus far, is 8.35 mi. A mix of woodland trails, dirt & gravel roads, like the course. Did that 2 weeks ago, after several prior weekend training runs of 7.5 or 8 mi. I think I’m as ready as I’ll ever be. Nervous, but ready. Please, God, if I come in last, at least let me still feel a strong sense of achievement over embarrassment!

A sore toe isn’t the kiss of death, but it might slow me down. I don’t need that, since I’m slow enough as it is! My 2 goals for Saturday’s race: 1.) Finish, no matter how slow. 2.) Don’t get an injury so bad that it will ruin the rest of Juneathon. Thus, I’m tempted to pick at my toenail, which I did a bit of today, stupidly making it even more sore. I guess I will force myself to leave it alone, apply a dab of Bacitracin & hope it doesn’t get any worse until after Saturday.

Meanwhile, I ran 4.1 mi. (43:02) just before my 5:30pm strength training class (1 hr.). Gorgeous sunny day so I went out to Willard Pond & back. I love seeing the water there. Turns out, my lunges, squats & pushups are kinda weak after a pre-class run. Who knew! My instructor was on vacation last week, so classes were cancelled… meaning I did no weights or mat exercises since end of May. I have a feeling I’m going to regret that, when I’m sore tomorrow morning :-)

Today’s random pics were taken last month at the grocery store. I was about to go in & heard a loud chorus of chirping from above. When I looked up, I saw house sparrows en masse, many tending youngsters. If you want a closer look, click on the photos to enlarge them, so you can see the birds & nests! There was a bird on every crossbar of a letter, flying in or out… they seem to fancy A’s & E’s. “Hey, honey, what do you think of this A-frame house? Great, we’ll take it…”

Tags: , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Juneathon Day 6: My Left Toe”

  1. mary taitt Says:

    Cute! I love the A-frames!!! :-D

  2. mike Says:

    That birdhouse is too funny.
    Like the opposite of your toe.

    Juneathon does not recognize injury. Of course, maybe you’re not calling an ingrown nail an injury.
    You can get the nail removed and be back on the road the same day.
    With a bleeding toe.

    You’re doing really well ahead of your race, too.
    Maybe they’ve ordered the t-shirts by now.

    And yes, nearly 1 week deep into Juneathon, you’re ready for a measly 10-miler (or is it 15K?). Just keep moving.

    • henniemavis Says:

      HA! Tell ya what… I’ll get my toenail removed when you take a voluntary digger to test your new clotting factor? We both have to run immediately after. Deal? Oh, what a shame — we can’t shake hands on it!

  3. christine e-e Says:

    it’s a bummer when your feet & toes give you problems… keeping my fingers crossed that it will heal enough by Saturday! Try soaking in Epsom Salts. I’m a firm believer in foot soaks.
    I’m still not walking without a limp (referring to me) – will be seeing the foot DR tomorrow with xrays & MRI results in hand. Physical therapy is next!

    • henniemavis Says:

      Oh, Christine, you’re kidding :-( How unfair that your foot is still messed up, after all you’ve been thru! Good luck with the foot doc. Re: my foot, the Epsom soak is an excellent idea… and I think I even have a carton of Epsom salt somewhere under my sink! I’ll go do it now… while I’m sitting here entering my next post :-)

  4. Jaime Says:

    I love to personify animals. But when my daughter was young I used to call our dog the son I never had and then she started calling him her brother I suddenly realized that I may have gone too far!
    Those birds are smart, I bet there are food droppings from people coming out of the store!

  5. Andrea Says:

    You are impressing me! I only run when scared.

  6. mary taitt Says:

    Ha ha ha! That’s a great comment.

    By the way, you’ve inspired me to start jogging again–it’s hard with my fibro, but I’ve been doing it when I can. However–record high today–94 or above–not sure how much jogging I’ll be doing!

  7. mary taitt Says:

    Wicked hot here, too–I wanted to go early, but had to see the cardiologist.

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

