Juneathon Day 2: Run Training with Millipede

With no offense to my dear friend, who kicked ass on the same 2.2 mi. “run” as part of her Couch to 5K interval training, I was coasting. It was raining lightly, I was tired & we walked a few 3-min. segments since that’s a legit part of the program… but hey, it counts for my Day 2 Juneathon effort.

Meeting up for exercise is a great motivator for both of us. I’ve had a weekly commitment with this particular girlfriend for years now. We used to just walk… but since January, she’s lost 45 pounds — on a diet I proposed, yet failed at myself, of all things — & is now training to run! She is amazingly awesome. I won’t mention her name, so she doesn’t kill me. These shy people, geez ;-)

Anyway, she plans to do our town’s Run for the Honey 5K in August, her first race ever. In 2009, that was my first ever 5K & it’s still my 5K personal best (28:37). She’ll probably beat my time by then. She can already fit into my jeans now. Bitch. HA! I’m totally kidding. I love being around her energy, enthusiasm & sense of humor. Attention, awesome single guys in their 40s: she’s available! OK, now she’s gonna kill me.

On a lighter note, I’d like to point out that I finally figured out how to post the Juneathon logo (see sidebar at right). I’d also like to point out that it’s only 10pm as I work on my daily post. No more posting at 2am! Reading other Juneathon tweets & links, maybe… but my post is done before midnight. I’m makin’ a plan, man. To assist myself with daily blogging, I’ve decided to use my own misfit photos (pics I took, downloaded, but never used for anything) as graphics to break up this month’s onslaught of text. For instance, today’s pic is a millipede I got to hold this week. Trying to snap the pic before it fell off my hand was tricky. They’re fast. Cripes, the darn thing can probably beat my 5K personal best, too!

Tags: , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Juneathon Day 2: Run Training with Millipede”

  1. mike Says:

    Great job.

    What’s next? a pic of that voodoo doll of your friend. She sounds like a great anonymous motivator.

    Please. Keep up the random pics, that’s a great idea. The Internet will be a better place for it.

  2. shazruns Says:

    Ewww. Am thankful now that I live in the UK

  3. abradypus Says:

    Either you have very small hands, or that is a millipede I don’t want to meet in a dark alley!

  4. Shannon Says:

    Gross.

  5. thighwillbegone Says:

    Well done to your anonymous friend and I hope that it helps to keep you motivated too!

    I love those millipede’s some people keep them as pets over here (in the UK). They feel like a moustache crawling over your hand :) I imagine it’s a bit like getting your hand kissed by Professor Robert Winston :) http://www.robertwinston.org.uk/

    • henniemavis Says:

      So sorry it took me a while to approve this! I did not see that I have a “spam” folder for comments & this had gone in there… I guess cuz it had a link, WordPress thought it might be spam? When instead, it was a professor with a prevalent moustache! :-)

  6. Jaime Says:

    Your friend seems hot. Where can we meet her?

Leave a Reply

