Sketchbook Exchange Continues

In my prior post, I was one sick little raccoon. Above is a rendering I did of just that for a collaborative art exchange post, while I was laid up. (Click on any photo to view it larger.)

I had spring on my mind too, as I stared out my snowy window… so I ordered seeds from my favorite catalog, Fedco Seeds. I also poked on my laptop a lot, looking at abstract art, then trying my hand at it. And in my fevered state, I was thinking a cold beer might have tasted good, but I drank lots of hot tea instead.

Ah, the scattered mind of an artist without a cause! I’m back to better health by now. I am sleeping & coughing less, running & working more, tho I’m no less scattered. In other words, back to business as usual.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

16 Responses to “Sketchbook Exchange Continues”

  1. jo(e) Says:

    I love that first sketch! That’s just how I feel when I’m sick.

    • henniemavis Says:

      Me too… my sketch partner gave me the “blaaahh!” to work with, completely at random, not knowing that by the time I got her sketchbook from Canada, I would be feeling exactly that way! I did the raccoon cuz we have a few of them prowling around our yard at night this past month. So far, the chicken coop’s been secure ;-)

  2. christine Says:

    what fabulous art… I didn’t remember that you also drew… in addition to running, I’m now envious of your artistic skills.
    WOW! how about printing the seed artwork on notecards? announcing SPRING is COMING?
    Get well my blogging buddy!

  3. mary taitt Says:

    These are all wonderful, as usual. I missed the raccoon one if you posted it to Moleskine. I love it. Super! Hope yr all better now!

    The collaging is fun too, I love the seeds and the other parts as well!

  4. Andrea Says:

    I love that raccoon. There are so many ciry raccoons in Reno, I wish I could teleport them all up to you for safe keeping. The mean streets of Reno = no place for these cuties.

    Thanks for the encouraging comments on my daily sketches too!

  5. meghan Ling Says:

    I just love that seed art, do you do chickens as well?? I was sad to hear that the chicken in the park was probably homeless. I would have brought him home to awaken our apartment tenant and my husband. That’s how I roll and make friends!!!
    Missed you!

    • henniemavis Says:

      I hestitated to tell you, but was feeling sympathetic toward him & knew you would too, cuz we’re both so darn big-hearted :-)
      Tho not an early riser, I love the sound of my rooster crowing when my windows are open all summer.

  6. Louise Says:

    I adore your racoon sketch. You should be a picture book illustrator.

  7. peggy fussell Says:

    I miss swapping books with you, HM.

    • henniemavis Says:

      When I finish this exchange, I’m without one for a while… maybe you & I can cook up some silly, sketchy fun of our own? I wish I lived near you. I’d come do some volunteer programs at the Walters, just to be near you :-)

  8. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    Me too!!!!!

  9. Melisa Says:

    Love these pages! Especially that racoon!

  10. Melisa Says:

    Er, raccoon. I lost my second c, somehow. :)

Leave a Reply

