Mid-February Cold Slump (Virus, Not Temp)

This is the nightstand of a sick woman. I don’t get sick very often, but wow, when I do… whole hog. It’s a good thing we had a fun getaway weekend early in the month, cuz I really know how to spoil Valentine’s weekend. Fairly warned at the first sign of trouble, the husband saved himself by moving into the guestroom before all hell broke loose: sneezing, coughing, sore throat, runny nose, fever, sweaty chills, up all night, then sleeping fitfully during the day. Spent 3 days in bed, much to Eddie’s delight. Cats do love non-stop bed companions :-)

It’s been ugly, but I think I’m finally out of the woods. Between heel-blister-healing & then this cold, I haven’t run in over 2 weeks. I’ve at least kept up at strength training, yoga & walking. Heavy breathing still triggers coughing spasms, so running is off for another few days. I might try for a 3 mi. trot on Sunday. The good news: I’m down 5 lbs! Nothing like a bout of illness to kill one’s appetite. That was part of it. I’ve also been boning up on some training-diet plans & I’m making some progress, despite one at-home lobster dinner & some yummy dark chocolate for Valentine’s Day, courtesy of the husband :-)

Besides reading, I sorted 2 boxes of tax receipts for our business, placed our spring seed orders & got a jump on some drawing for my sketchbook exchange. I guess being sick isn’t totally unproductive. Still, I’m looking forward to a “do-over” this week, minus the sinus effluent. Yuck.

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Mid-February Cold Slump (Virus, Not Temp)”

  1. mary taitt Says:

    Sure hope you feel better!

    SOON!

    Keith, Graham and I were all sick recently and hope we don’t get sick again. Sam is out cold now.

  2. mary taitt Says:

    Yeah, that’s why I’m worried we might get sick again –we were all barfing. Sam has the flu.

    Hope you’re soon at 100% hale, happy healthy and hearty!!! Running, and having fun.

  3. christine Says:

    sorry to hear you were sick! I’ve noticed how brutal & long-lasting this bug has been… my niece’s daughter got the fever twice in a 10 day period…
    but, congrats on accomplishing a few “housekeeping tasks”… wish I could claim the same progress as I move into the 28th day of being on crutches! What a spirit breaker being ill or having a broken bone can be!
    but, the silver lining is that I’ve been reading more library books… haven’t snacked as much (getting up & down the 15 stairs reminds me to think twice about wanting a snack)… have taken some time off from work… (which made me feel guilty at first, but makes me wonder if I should retire sooner than I thought)… has encouraged me to craft more… WOW! maybe this being on crutches isn’t all that bad. It’s still difficult to manage a camera on crutches though!
    Be well soon, my friend… looking forward to hearing about your jogging progress again.

    • henniemavis Says:

      Crutches, still? Boo hoo! I was thinking you would be off them by now… but no, don’t let your spirit be broken :-) you are almost well, too! We’ll get well together. Your list of “silver linings” made me smile. Especially the one about how crutches on stairs discourage one from snacking!

  4. mike Says:

    What does Meg call it? Pioneer sick?
    Hope you’re back out on the road, although one could probably get used to 3 days in bed. Oh, there’s an article that brought you to mind:
    http://www.mercurynews.com/news/ci_17244999?nclick_check=1

    • henniemavis Says:

      Just ran yesterday, first time in 3 weeks. It was glorious! I could only walk these last 2 weeks. I can finally breathe without coughing (mostly). Ran 2.75 mi. plus 1/2 mi. cooldown walk, to be cautious. Didn’t want to overdo it after my long break. I’ll try for 4 mi. on Sat., weather permitting (they’re calling for 6 inches of snow Fri.).

      LOVE the Chicken Whisperer! No house-pet chickens here tho, all my ladies must stay outdoors. Unless they learn to do dishes, then all bets are off.

Leave a Reply

