Sketchbook Exchange: Two Books Left

My yearlong sketchbook exchange group is finally winding down. It will actually have lasted about 18 months, when all is said & done. I was losing steam over the holidays, but finally managed to finish drawing & painting these installments, which are explained in more detail here & here. You can click on the photos to see them larger.

These were all done in Ellen’s book & will go to her in Delaware once all artists have added to it. I have two books left to do (one is here already, the other is yet to arrive). After that, I will get my own sketchbook back as the last book in rotation. I can’t wait to see it full of art from all 12 artists around the country!

Tho I thoroughly enjoyed this exchange group, I did not sign up for the next round. I think I need a break, but I already have a feeling I will miss it. I have so many things I want to concentrate on, that I have trouble concentrating on any of them. A healthy body & mind, generating income for use now & in the future, sustaining my marriage, maintaining friendships. These things are really important. And then there’s cultivating stuff like my creativity, veggie & flower gardens, some musical talent (if I have any, HA!). Also very important. And I want more time for reading & learning & trying new things. I still want my own hive of honeybees, more understanding of computer capabilities & a clever tattoo. Important.

In other news, we got another foot of snow today. I spent the day indoors. Tomorrow, no such luck. I’ll be shoveling my way to the chicken coop, the woodshed & my car starting at 6am. I’m counting it as a stand-up abs workout (the twisting), squats (lifting with my legs) & bicep curls (throwing snow).  If I sing my workout tunes, I think it will go quickly. Glad we don’t have any neighbors.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

21 Responses to “Sketchbook Exchange: Two Books Left”

  1. angenita Says:

    Your pages look very nice.
    Enough time for all those important and fun stuff, it’s a problem for everybody. It’s so formiliar :) Have fun with all those things.

  2. Tracy Says:

    Your pages are beautiful!

    I love your attitude re: hauling wood, the chickens, etc. I can relate to EVERYTHING on your list of things intending to do! It was like looking into my life. *lol* Okay, except the singing. The musical gene skipped me.

    I have grown to like hauling wood because it’s a “natural” workout. We are down to one chicken and hope to get a few more this spring. I miss seeing them about the yard doing their “chickenish” things. I also miss our ducks.

    I’d love to have honey bees too. Right now I’m still got a request in for a goat. I find them adorable!

    I’m glad I clicked on your link over at #ced2011!

    Have a super day!

    • henniemavis Says:

      The musical gene skipped me, too… but that doesn’t stop me ;-)
      I asked for a horse first, knowing I’d get shot down — hoping it would grease the chute for a couple of goats or some sheep, as a counter-offer. No dice! I did get the go-ahead for bees, tho. Poultry & cats were also pre-approved. Good luck with your submitted requests!

  3. Sloane Says:

    I love your pages! I understand your needing a break, it is so hard to balance all the things we want and have to do in life. I have made the big decision of not having a garden this year so I can focus on my art (and other assorted reasons). I joined a CSA that is not far from home and organic so I am kind of excited to have someone else worry about those darned bugs!

    • henniemavis Says:

      Thanks :-) We belonged to a CSA for years, but now our garden is big enough to be a CSA! I do love having a garden, but you’re right, it eats from us (timewise) as much as we eat from it. CSAs are pretty wonderful, I’m betting you’ll enjoy the switchover to supporting a local farmer, instead of being one!

  4. adrienne Says:

    Hi,

    It took a bit of work but I found you! Your art is wonderful…I paint a bit myself but haven’t done much lately; I really need to get back to it. Thank you so much for visiting me and leaving such a nice comment on my weekword post for mercurial. I am a relatively new photographer, just started doing it when I started my blog last summer so your comment was especially gratifying. Have a great day!

  5. aimee Says:

    Your pages are beautiful! You seem to be very clear about what you need and it is inspiring to see you honoring that. I’m smiling at the image of you singing while shoveling ;-)

  6. mary taitt Says:

    I love these! Theya re really pretty and inspiriting! :-D

    • henniemavis Says:

      Thanks. I just found out today that I still have 3 books left, not 2. Ash told me she has Anders & Steve ! I didn’t realize I hadn’t done Steve’s book yet. Geez, somehow the shipping order got super fouled up. So I still have plenty to do on Round 2 yet…

  7. mike Says:

    Your sketches are always incredible. Sad that the first one made me think of BP.
    And there is nothing like singing to pass the time. I’ll share my own recent singing experience in a few days :-)
    Glad you didn’t travel too far looking for me in PA. Cuz I was in FL.
    Would’ve said more about the trip, but shady local blogger stalkers make that a bad idea.
    I am proud of your running. You’ve exceeded your own expectations. Just keep thinking. 15K 15K 15K

    • henniemavis Says:

      Welcome back, Fatty. (just kiddin’ ya… want in on my magazine-diet?)
      “Shady local blogger stalkers?” Are you serious? I can never tell, cuz you hardly ever let on. Humor mask?
      Re: 15K, Hal Higdon & I have a plan… plus, I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I think I actually like running in winter by now. The road conditions slow me way down, but when I don’t worry about my speed/performance, I love the run. I mean, I really love it! I am not having trouble getting out there anymore. And not overheating from exposure, unlike in summer, is totally awesome!

  8. peggy fussell Says:

    I’ll say it again, I wish I was your neighbor. I think we could have helped each other through some difficulties. Not to mention all the banana bread pudding I’d be making! Love these sketches… no… paintings.

  9. mary taitt Says:

    I wish we were neighbors too, I really do. I MISS YOU–from back when we were neighbors of sorts!!!

  10. mary taitt Says:

    That would be great! I would LOVE that! :-D

  11. Andrea Says:

    I want in on this neighbor thing. ;)

    We will miss you in round 3, but that list of other things you want to concentrate on is very worthy. I have this funny feeling tho … we’ll get you back for round 4. Or is that hope I am feeling?!?! ;)

Leave a Reply

