I Know Why They Call It “Fall”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Fall. Because it’s the time of year to fall behind on my work, fall into disarray, fall off the fitness wagon, fall down a well emotionally. I’ve had some personal disaster amid a wondrous backdrop of color, HA! For one month every year, our 2 miles of dirt road is particularly beautiful. A comfort before the approaching winter. Two miles of awe, whenever I go in or out, on foot or by car. And now it’s over.

Fortunately, like everything else in life, falls are impermanent. Eventually, you hit the ground & get up. My pendulum has finally begun to swing back upward, toward organization, strength, inspiration. I bought a new planner for 2011 — yes, I still use the non-electronic kind. I am already getting tips for winter training, which I am implementing, finally! I ran 2.5 mi. Wed. & 3.75 Fri., my first in a while (last run was Oct. 19, yikes). Last night, I ran 3 mi. on the treadmill. It gets dark so early now, I might have to do indoor stints to keep pace. Wow, haven’t run on a treadmill since January. It’s still as boring as I remembered it.

So… I’m back on the wagon, I hope? I’m shit-canning run times cuz I don’t care about speed right now. My primary goal is to just keep running, 3x/week thru winter, at distances of 3 to 6 mi. a pop. Treadmill or outdoors, whatever I can manage. My first 15K is mid-June, so I’ll start time-training & extending distances from to 7, 8, 9 mi. come March. That’s the plan, Stan.

I also need to get caught up at work. I need to finish my latest sketch-exchange Moleskine. I need to work on diet changes (more protein & fiber, less fat & carbs). And get a grip on Christmas. Shopping is something I really dread. Do they have “training plans” for that? Do I have to shop for an hour 3x/week? Oh geez, I’d pick the treadmill over shopping, most happily. Maybe if I shop for wine first, the rest of my shopping will get easier? Rioja (say ‘ree-oh-hah’), anyone? HA!

6 Responses to “I Know Why They Call It “Fall””

  1. Andrea Says:

    Arg! The damned fall pendulum. I totally know what you mean. Last fall was an all time low for me in so many ways. I hope you can continue on your uptick. Here’s some luck to me from you.

    Lovely photos!

    • henniemavis Says:

      Thanks, sister! Mental boosts of luck are appreciated. I’m normally such a high person that when I go low for more than a few hours, it can really scare people ;-)

  2. mary taitt Says:

    Sure is purty! I had that same calendar! Once. When I fell off, I fell hard. Never got back up.

  3. mike Says:

    Holy crap, Oct 19th? Holy crap, January?
    If you really hate that treadmill THAT much, and if you don’t already own any, maybe you want to take one of those 3×1 hour shopping sessions and order yourself some shoe traction aid/grips. That way you can get out and enjoy that beautiful-for-one-month dirt road (cool slideshow) of yours independent of the conditions.
    But, I think you’re definitely on the right track. No more inertia.
    Stay in motion!

    And no matter what method you use for your training log, it is a valuable tool and motivator. I only switched to Google Docs for my log because I could update it anywhere, not being the type that likes to carry around books and stuff.

    • henniemavis Says:

      I already own YakTrax & 2 other brands/kinds of strap-on “snowtires for one’s feet.” I need them just for walking up & down our icy driveway without breaking my neck! Running in them just seems, well… really reckless?

      We’ll see. I do really hate the treadmill… but I’m torn between trying to find a way to love it, or freezing my ass off & risking injury outdoors. Such pleasant options :-)

      Gasp! I am going to pretend you did not just say “…not being the type that likes to carry around books.”

Leave a Reply

