Creative Every Day: Sketching by Train

On Tuesday, I took a train from Philadelphia PA to Brattleboro VT. It’s a long ride, but fairly smooth & comfy. I was prepared for art. This particular train wasn’t crowded, so I could spread out. I had brought a sketchbook (Mary’s) from my sketch exchange group & a bag of supplies, including but not limited to: acrylic paints, brushes, graphite & colored pencils, black pens & kids’ Crayola markers. It was heaven.

I did the portrait sketch, above, in Ebony pencil. Then I switched to acrylic painting with marker pen & colored pencil overlay for the fruit. Bananas again, sorry folks! I had one in my bag as a snack & couldn’t resist drawing it.

You can click on either photo to see them larger. To see more banana art, click here. To see what I drew on this same train ride last year, click here. 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Creative Every Day: Sketching by Train”

  1. Aya Says:

    I love those! I can’t believe how study your hand must be on a train to draw so well!

  2. mary taitt Says:

    I love your work–and it’s amazing you can do such careful precise work on a train!!! WOW!

  3. Andrea Says:

    You did these on a train?!?! You rule!

  4. mike Says:

    That sketch is incredible. Brilliant use of your traveling time.

Leave a Reply

