Creative Every Day: Greasy Brunch Turtles & Squirrel Nut Zippers

One of these is a band. The other is a food. Oh, wait… technically, they’re both foods, since the Squirrel Nut Zippers named their band before finding out there’s a candy of the same name? Oops, blew my own riddle.

I had the best time this weekend taste-testing music & not tasting breakfast reptiles, HA! My husband saw an online photo of hamburger “turtles” wrapped in bacon, with hotdog appendages. Just the thought of that makes me half sick (I’m not a big meat eater), but I can appreciate a good creative gimmick. Since we were having weekend guests who love breakfast meats, I adapted the idea to my Sunday brunch menu. I used corned beef hash patties wrapped in bacon, with sausage appendages, to create smaller-but-no-less-fatty edible tortoises. We were all amused. I didn’t taste one, of course, but my brunch guests each got 1/2 c. hash, 3 strips of bacon & 2 mini sausages per serving (1 turtle). Gak!

Better for me was a new taste of music, yum! This Saturday was our town library’s annual book sale fundraiser. Used books, audio books, VHS & DVDs, CDs & more — the selection is mind-blowing, the prices a steal. Our bacon-loving guests also love books, so we all went to the sale & made out. At those cheap prices, you can afford to make risky purchases just for the adventure of it. For example, I bought a CD of a band I’d never heard of, just because I liked their silly name: Squirrel Nut Zippers. And because when I turned the CD case over, under the band members listing, it read “Chris P. Phillips – contraption kit.” What the heck is that? Does it mean he plays odd contraptions he made up to be “musical?” Ooo, I had to check it out.

So… this lark of a blind buy turned into a great earful of education for just one dollar, yay! This Squirrel Nut Zippers CD plays sorta like a swing band with a cheap “bad recording” sound & it’s really playful. I mean, ukelele & banjo, for God’s sake? HA! I couldn’t find any of the cuts from this particular album, Roasted Right, to share via YouTube. But I found a bunch of other cuts. Seems it’s all fun stuff. I still don’t know what “contraption kit” means, but who cares.

Tags: , , , , , ,

14 Responses to “Creative Every Day: Greasy Brunch Turtles & Squirrel Nut Zippers”

  1. Aya Says:

    If you like Squirrel Nut Zippers you got to check out “The Moonlighter” I think te base player is the same guy, they are really cute.
    http://www.blissblood.com/index_moonlighters.html

  2. Sloane Says:

    I love the Squirrel Nut Zippers…great score at the sale!

  3. peggy fussell Says:

    I adore the Squirrel Nut Zippers too!!! Those greasy turtles look mighty good.

    • henniemavis Says:

      Oh Peggy, GAK on these turtles! Let’s eat chips instead :-)

      • peggy fussell Says:

        Hee hee! Alright I’ll join you for chips then. The Squirrel Nut Zippers were favorites when we lived in Dallas. Another band I bet you’d like is Brave Combo. And if you are a fan of marching bands check out the Hungry March Band. They’ll get your butt off the naugahyde. Pure dancing joy!

      • henniemavis Says:

        Mmm, chips for breakfast is so very naugh-ty ;-) I’ll check out the other bands you suggest. Anything to firm me ole buttocks, HA! (to which chips are a major contributor, oops)

  4. Mark Says:

    I agree that those bacon wrapped Greasy Brunch Turtles don’t look good, BUT I would have definitely tried one. It’s like going to South Africa and coming home without having eaten Wildebeast or Wild Boar. Gotta eat the bacon bomb!!

    Oh and that video was awesome! I thought I was going watch about 30 seconds of it, but watched the entire thing. I just kept thinking how fun it would be to be in that band. I’m sure I would have purchases that CD for a dollar too…just for the name alone. :)

    • henniemavis Says:

      I would try wildebeast or wild boar over canned Hormel wrapped in Oscar-Mayer any day of the week :-) … and yeah, the Squirrel Nut Zips really swing it, huh? I do really like that kinda thing.

  5. Junebug Says:

    Those turtles would be such a blast for a brunch. I agree since I’m not a big eater that I’m not sure I would try it but good for a laugh.

  6. mike Says:

    SNZ has such a great sound, good score.

    I might be able to eat a turtle with my eyes closed.
    Turtle of your brunch variety that is.
    However, no surprise if you prepare actual turtles given your skills.

  7. Pearl Says:

    I can see what you mean. the turtles are macabre yet goofy-clever. and that bacon, it’s a gateway meat so ever so appealing.

Leave a Reply

