Creative Every Day: If You Can’t Eat It, Art It

The Husking Throne

3 approvals, 1 rejection

In a lawn chair, on the front step, in the grass. It’s where we sit, to husk corn, snap beans, braid onions, all summer long. We try to keep up with the harvest, yet despite our diligence, there’s always “one that got away.” Beans as thick as my thumb. Cucumbers the size of a footlong sub. Wagon wheel patty pans.

How to make use of these things has become a joke. When feeling uncreative, I feed oversize produce to the hens. They’re not picky & will gladly consume it. But sometimes, I get silly. Last year, I made a simple animal head door knocker. This year, I got a little more involved.

Acrylic paint, garlic clove eyes, cherry tomato nose, thin spaghetti whiskers… to make a giant squash become…

A lion! I am dying to know if the spaghetti whiskers will droop in the rain? That giant cuke really wants to be an alligator, by the way. Maybe next week :-)

Tags: , , , ,

19 Responses to “Creative Every Day: If You Can’t Eat It, Art It”

  1. EVA Says:

    Wow! He made a perfect lion!

    How very creative!

  2. mike Says:

    Way cool, how pathetic that my rejected veggies just become compost?
    Oh, if only I had a sliver of artistic ability…

    That door knocker is hilarious.

    • henniemavis Says:

      C’mon, your writing is clever, so I’m sure you’re artistic. You just lack confidence, that’s all… like me running SLOW miles! Should I tell ya where my “creative” husband puts some of our giant veggies for his amusement? Hint: he has overgrown cuke envy.

  3. melissa Says:

    That is so cute! I love it.

  4. mary taitt Says:

    LOL! I love this! :-D

    It’s really cute and creative and I know BB (K) will love it too!

    Now if you could make edible critters that will withstand baking–LOL!

  5. henniemavis Says:

    @Melissa & Mary: Thanks! And mmm, yes, I should work on baked, edible critters for a CED post. Perhaps I should buy a new apron for the occasion? Whee hee!

  6. mary taitt Says:

    A new apron sounds fun–and maybe even creative!

    I’m like a kid in that I love creative food, in all it’s permutations–like artsy food (skip the fartsy part!)

  7. melissa Says:

    Just wanted to thank you for stalking my apron. I haven’t listed that one on etsy yet, but I did list one almost exactly like it. There’s only two of them, the vintage fabric is nothing but little pocket scraps now.

  8. Artist Says:

    Wow, this shows it, you can make art of everything. Just amazing, I like it. I am painting through synesthesia which makes me see colors when I hear names and numbers. These colors I transform in paintings. Colors are my life.

  9. peggy fussell Says:

    That is one fabulous veggie lion!!

  10. henniemavis Says:

    @Artist: I will go look at your site. I wonder if there is a name for “seeing animals from vegetables?” I see colors in my mind when I meditate (I have to be settled in for more than 15 min. tho). I wonder if that is a form of synesthia?

    @Peggy: Thanks! I wish he was made of cake instead. Or chips :-)

  11. Sloane Says:

    Defiately thinking outside of the box! You rock!

  12. stephanie-deliberately creative Says:

    Oh My! I love that lion!! yeah, I kinda think think the noodles will get soft, probably more from the moisture inside the squash than the rain. Those eyes are so sweet!

    • henniemavis Says:

      Thanks. Surprisingly, the lion has been on the back door for days now & the whiskers haven’t dropped out yet. ‘Course we’ve had no rain either. That’ll be the true test!

  13. heatherlorin Says:

    Fun! But. why do you reject the over-sized veggies?

Leave a Reply

