Creative Every Day: Worldwide SketchCrawl

Sandhy, hard at work on her antique hydrant sketch

Joanna, drawing trumpet vine

I purposely scheduled my last “Sketching from Nature” class on July 31st, to coincide with a Worldwide SketchCrawl Day, so I could try posting our drawings to the SketchCrawl website forum. I first heard about SketchCrawl from Peggy, who did it in May. I thought it would be fun to try this next one. 

Sandhy & Joanna were game to let me post them & their work with mine. We had a great 2 hr. session at the Harris Center for Conservation Education. The property is a beautiful old estate & the weather was a perfect sunny, 75-degree day. It was peaceful there on a Saturday, as the children’s programs run all summer, but on weekdays only. 

Sandhy's finished sketch

Joanna's drawing

Here’s our work! Sandhy drew the property’s old hydrant (above), while Joanna drew these trumpet vines & added creatures from her imagination (right). I drew some thistle w/bees (below). You can click on the photos, to make the sketches larger. I saw both honeybees & bumblebees on my thistle. As I sat there drawing, I wondered if I was seeing new bees the entire time, or some of the same individuals making return trips?

My SketchCrawl drawing

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

15 Responses to “Creative Every Day: Worldwide SketchCrawl”

  1. peggy fussell Says:

    Excellent!! I couldn’t do it this time, but I am oh so happy that you did!!

  2. heatherlorin Says:

    Lovely. What did you use for your drawing Heidi? Pencil? Pens?

  3. organicsyes Says:

    Wonderful bees! It amazes me how you can draw/sketch a piece of nature, but the liveliness continues all around…like life, trying to freeze a moment, make the perfect words come together in a sentence, yet the outside “buzzing”, of thoughts and environment continue their merry music:)

    • henniemavis Says:

      You’re so right. I am one to be well aware of external “buzzing” around me, even when I am trying to “freeze” on a singular, important item in life at that time. It can be wonderful or annoying, depending on my circumstance ;-)

  4. stephanie-deliberately creative Says:

    Sweet! I didn’t get out to sketch on the 31st. I’ll keep my eyes open for the next sketch crawl though. We did go out last weekend for the International Photo Walk though. :)

    YOu all did such lovely work! I am seriously looking at joining up with folks in Portland to sketch together. Safety in numbers…:)

    • henniemavis Says:

      “Safety in numbers” is cute. Reminds me of my piano teacher’s words to me, when I am balkish about trying to play a new piece. He says, “C’mon, there’s nothing to worry about. Dive in! It’s just music. Nobody dies.”

      An international photo walk sounds like great fun! I love art combined with outdoor exercise :-)

  5. Carmen Hirkala Says:

    What a beautiful presentation and such a great little exercise to take part in. Reminds me of my love of doing nature study sketches for my field biology courses over the years. Peaceful and always a pleasure to read your posts.

    • henniemavis Says:

      I think I would love to take field biology, but I didn’t discover I might love biology until well after college… not sure I’d want to go back to college again now, hmm? Thanks for liking my posts :-)

  6. Kelly Says:

    Your sketch is just lovely. What a terrific idea…a sketchcrawl! Great way to support and inspire each other!

  7. Pearl Says:

    what excellent skill among those hands. inspiring.

  8. mary taitt Says:

    What fun! Wish I could have joined you!!!

  9. Evelyn Says:

    Oh very nice to have a group to play with. Beautiful work.

Leave a Reply

