Creative Every Day: Meat Identification

You’d never guess I’m not a big meat eater, if you saw my grocery cart sometimes. I do like small amounts of chicken & seafood. My husband prefers mounds of beef & pork. So to save money when I do buy meat, I purchase big “family-size” packages. When I get home, I divide the meat & rewrap it as individual portions for our chest freezer. What’s so creative about that? Rebus-puzzle labeling, of course :-)

I should hope you easily guessed that the packages above are a “pork chop” & some “catfish.” If you’re over 18 & want to see a pack of “chicken breasts,” you must promise not to giggle & then click here.

Postscript: This post proves no task is so mundane that one can’t be playful. Joy can be found accidentally in all things, with a little bit of luck & the right frame of heart. I love that about life. I hope for “little accidents” like this every day :-)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Creative Every Day: Meat Identification”

  1. mary taitt Says:

    CUTE! VERY VERY CUTE!

    That’s one of the things I love about you — you are so very creative and PLAYFUL!

  2. Jenn Says:

    Hi Hennie,
    I’m stopping by from Just Add Water, Silly. after I got your comment. OOh, I’m in love with your Thrush bird!! Will you draw me on and maybe I can do you a small hosta (or something other of your choice) and we can trade? What do you think?

    I also am so impressed with your self preservation with all the gardening and food trading etc., beautifully sustainable. When I was a child we had a cellar and a pressure cooker so we did a whole year’s cooking and preserving for the winter. It was so wonderful to go down into the basement to get a preserved bottle of beautiful bing cherries. They were my favorite. I miss that whole way of living.
    Good for you for keeping it up. I’ll stop by often, see you again soon!
    Best,
    Jenn

    • henniemavis Says:

      Hi, Jenn! Thanks for the kind comments about my gardening & sustainability habits :-) Seems a lot of us have fond memories about more sustainable childhoods — me too!

      Regarding the art swap, it’s a wonderful idea, as I do covet your hosta! But I may have to table the idea until I have more time to redraw another thrush. I have a current backlog of art-related promises made & I am starting to stress a little bit. I owe people maps & sketches & menu cover designs & posters & illustrated poems. It’s kinda scary! I would tear out this thrush & send it to you straight away, if it weren’t drawn in my friend Mary’s sketchbook, already a gift to her! Let’s keep in touch… so when my schedule opens up more, I can bargain a hosta-thrush trade then :-)

  3. Sandy Coleman Says:

    Hilarious! I love your playfulness. :-)

  4. peggy fussell Says:

    hee hee!!!

  5. organicsyes Says:

    Love the fun:)

  6. nancy t Says:

    Very funny and cute! I’d love to rummage in your freezer for more giggles. nancy

  7. mike Says:

    I could not figure out pork-chop.

    Glad I cheated and looked ahead because I would have spent all day puzzling over “pig axe”

  8. melissa Says:

    That’s so fun! I love playing while I work, what a clever idea for adding some amusement to a rather boring and icky job.

  9. henniemavis Says:

    Good heavens, apparently posts on meat wrapping are popular, HA!
    @Nancy: Warning, if you’re going to rummage thru my freezer, I might suggest you clean it ;-)
    @Melissa: It’s not like I have any control over when ideas come. They sort of pop up accidentally… but yes, it’s quite convenient when they come during chores! :-)

Leave a Reply

