My Number’s Up

My response to Peggy’s creative call for the weekword “number.”
5… 4… 3… 2…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

ONE! I had planned to do the number 2, but I ran short on time, so I cut it to one. HA!

This one oak seedling is growing in the middle of our road. The soil is mostly packed sand & gravel, yet this little tree is thriving. I have been watching it for some time now — walking, running, biking & driving by it, taking care not to crush it. As it grows bigger, I know one day I will find it has been flattened by some mindless passerby. But until then, I admire its “oneness” each day. I’ve half a mind to dig it out & transplant it in our yard, just out of principle.

For those of you unfamiliar with WordPress Slideshow, it should run automatically. If you wish to move thru it faster, stop it on a certain image, or go backward, simply mouse-over the slideshow screen & use the toolbar that appears at the bottom. I wish I had some way to add audio! Uh oh, I think I am dancing around wanting to play with video animation. But cripes, I don’t need any new learning projects right now… so click here for my chosen sound track. It should open in its own browser window, which you can then reduce, and listen only while watching the slideshow.

Of course, watching the music video is also fun. The pigeon-bobbing of the electric bassist’s head in the opening footage makes me laugh. And I openly covet that backup singer’s striped pants. I really do :-)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

17 Responses to “My Number’s Up”

  1. Cathy Says:

    interesting twist with your response!

  2. S.E.Minegar Says:

    I love this! What a strong little guy! Beautiful photos and slideshow!

  3. peggy fussell Says:

    That tree is enjoying being on the road, far away from the crowd in the forest. I can tell he’s going to have an adventure like no other. Thank you for that 3 Dog Night flash back. (instead of Two you did One and Three, clever!) I must have those pants.

  4. henniemavis Says:

    Thanks everyone, for visiting & for your comments :-)

    @Peggy: Those pants are the berries! Bet Shelley could make us each a pair? Maybe we just buy black jeans & rub a bleach-soaked piece of sponge down the legs? If I try, I’ll post, HA!

  5. Carmen HIrkala Says:

    Love this take on “numbers”-your little tree is so sweet, I’d transplant him too! What I’m most enthralled with is the your road is dirt-I would love to somewhere along a dirt path with such abundant verdant beauty surrounding me. Great post!

    • henniemavis Says:

      Living along a dirt road is great in summer & fall, but in spring (mud season) & winter (snow & ice pack), it’s sometimes problematic getting in & out by car (2 mi. drive to nearest paved road). It is always beautiful, tho :-)

  6. Christine Says:

    this is just plain cooooollll! I want to check out this program. I’m in awe of all this week’s participants…. I have a check list of new stuff to learn!

    • henniemavis Says:

      The slideshow feature isn’t a “program” per se, in my case. It’s just a built-in feature of my WordPress blog, found under the Gallery tab of the Media Menu. If you use Blogger or Typepad or some other blog program, then I’m afraid I can’t help! But I just learned how to use Slideshow from 2 other women with WP blogs. Internet networking is great!

  7. b Says:

    This is such a very lovely and clever take on our word this week! Definitely save the tree!! My vote is to dig it up and transplant it to your yard. What a story to always have. B.

    • henniemavis Says:

      I might… yet I would also love to see how long it manages to survive on its own? My life is often torn this way, wondering when to intervene, or simply watch nature take its sometimes-wonderful, sometimes-horrendous course. If I hear the town road grader tho, I will be trotting out there in a hurry with my spade for sure ;-)

  8. mike Says:

    You are a slideshow superstar.

    And that video had an ad for Wawa hoagies, very cruel this early in the morning (suppose that’s my fault).

    Last oak seedling I tried to transplant expired pretty quickly. I wish you better luck.
    Although, that little guy has already proven his resilience, given his location.

    • henniemavis Says:

      Yes, that hoagie-specific ad is your mind at work… but GRRRRRR! Google Ads in general are a peeve of mine! I haven’t paid the stupid $30 to prevent them, cuz I keep meaning to get my own domain & end that nonsense. I feel used. But hey, that’s what I get for “free.” Bah!

  9. heatherlorin Says:

    We are slideshow superstars! Just added my first one. Hope your tree makes it!

  10. Shannon Says:

    I also find that your soundtrack suits your banana art slideshow.

  11. mary taitt Says:

    This slide show works fine for me. IS there supposed to be music.

    Oh, wait I get it — sorry! CUTE–good choice of music. LOL!!!!

  12. mary taitt Says:

    It’s cute and creative! :-D

Leave a Reply

