Fitness: Salt Replacement Solution

Ran 4 mi. today. Technically, I ran 2 & 2 mi. (21:47 x 2, as I stopped my watch midway… read on). I ran to Willard Pond & got distracted briefly at the boat landing/beach. That’s my designated turnaround point for a 4 mi. loop from my driveway, which turns out, is stupid because it’s wicked hot & the pond was too tempting. I couldn’t resist a quick dip. Only for 5 min., just to cool off… then I got out, put socks & sneaks back on & ran all the way home. That was probably bad for my muscles, the cold water shock? It sure felt awesome. I wish I knew how to swim. How awesome a cross-train would that be? 2 mi. run – 1/2 mi. swim – 2 mi. run. I could work some biking in there while adding distance, too. My own little neighborhood triathlon training & I’d never have to get into a car!

When I got home, I drank 12 oz. of the above, with a 16 oz. water chaser. I am hoping Spicy V8 will help cut my salt cravings. Nip my chip cravings in the bud. V8 wasn’t crunchy, but I ate some cuke slices for crunch resolution. V8 scores high in other categories, however. Spicy hot, check. Salty, check. Potassium, check. And when I compared it to an 8 oz. glass of Gatorade, I think I’ve found myself a “sports drink” that suits me.

Both have 50 calories per 8 oz. glass, but V8 is way higher in sodium & potassium than Gatorade. And V8 has good things that Gatorade doesn’t, like Vitamins A & C, Iron, Calcium & small amounts of protein & fiber. It also has less sugar than Gatorade. I don’t like sweetened drinks generally, barring the occasional root beer or hot cocoa. I count these things as “dessert,” so using a sweetened sports drink on a regular basis is simply not going to happen for me. I prefer my sugar in the form of pie, cake, ice cream or cookies, thank you :-)

Here’s the comparison, if anyone cares:

Note that 1 TB. of Gatorade powder (listed as 1 serving) is the approx. amount they recommend for mixing into 8 oz. of water. I haven’t seen a label from a pre-mixed bottle of liquid Gatorade. We have the powder at home, because my husband loves it. So despite my thumbs-down rating, it’s still on my grocery list. We usually cancel each other out at the polls, too, which is really annoying. But that’s a post for another day, HA!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Fitness: Salt Replacement Solution”

  1. mike Says:

    I love when something simple like V8 addresses your hydration (both liquids and electrolytes) better than a targeted product like Gatorade.

    I do not however think I could drink something called Spicy -Hot- mid-run!

    And one potentially useful tip:
    I tend to avoid exercising before swimming in an open body of water, for safety’s sake!

    • henniemavis Says:

      Aw, Mike… I totally forgot that as I train to run longer distances, I will have to be drinking mid-run, not just afterward. You’re right, I can’t chug-a-lug spicy V8 either. Crap! Back to the drawing board.

      Don’t worry, I won’t drown in the lake. I can’t swim, so I was just fantasizing about how powerhouse I’d be if I could swim, bike & run. Pokey-slow, but still ripped :-)

      And lastly, your recent crack about me being “the artist formerly known as Wussymavis” is still making me grin. I’m gonna start calling you Jillian Michael (not Michaels, just Michael), my new personal trainer.

  2. heatherlorin Says:

    I haven’t been able to talk myself into trying V8. Something about cold tomato juice just doesn’t sound appetizing to me. Maybe if I added some vodka I could get it down. ;)

  3. mary taitt Says:

    Gatorade is evil.

    I’m glad you’ve found something healthier. :-D

    • henniemavis Says:

      Agreed. You know I’m not one for dyed sugar-water in any form. I don’t like soda much, either (exception: root beer). Same reason. If I’m gonna drink something with zero nutritional value, I’ll take water, thanks.

  4. mary taitt Says:

    Me too!

Leave a Reply

